My Dilemma

28 Aug

Okay, so here’s my dilemma, and yes, I would love some help on this one. In a few weeks I will be traveling down to Boston to see (thanks to my bestest friend in the world), New Kids On the Block. Yes, I know, I’m 12 in a 29 year old’s body – shut up!

And yes Kitty, I’m definitely going 😉

Anyway, the concert won’t be done until, I’m guessing, 11 or after. My friend suggested that I get a hotel room in the town that she lives in, that way I can have somewhere to park my car (there’s NO WAY I’m driving in Boston), and can spend the night at the hotel before going home in the AM. She would love to have me spend the night at her place, but there’s simply no room.

I looked at the prices, and we’re talking about 90 bucks or so for a normal hotel room for the night. Just me. No naked dancing men with loincloths or anything. Just me. Alone. In a hotel room.

Now if the hotel room was, like, $50 or something, I’d have no problem with this. But it just seems an awful lot to pay to lay on a bed and watch television for eight hours (because you know I won’t actually fall asleep). Should I just try to head home instead? It takes about 3 1/2 hrs to get to my house from my best friend’s house. Is there a way to get a cheaper motel room? Should I sleep in the car? Or should I pimp my ass out on the corner to pay for the gas and shopping damage that is likely to occur…?

9 Responses to “My Dilemma”

  1. Winnie August 28, 2008 at 12:14 pm #

    Why wouldn’t you fall asleep in the hotel room? If you’re going to stay up all night and then drive home, you might as well drive home at night. (Unless the hotel room was because you don’t like driving at night and not because you think you’d be too tired to drive).

    As for the parking, are you taking public transit into the city? Don’t they have “park and ride” lots or something?

    I’m going to the New Kids concert when it is here in Oct! Very excited for the both of us. 🙂

  2. PinkPiddyPaws August 28, 2008 at 2:26 pm #

    pimp! I vote for pimping! and tell me what you get. I need a job you know. 🙂

  3. Randi August 28, 2008 at 3:01 pm #

    I won’t fall asleep in the hotel room because I’m a wicked homebody, and if I’m sleeping by myself, I’ll freak and think that Jason is trying to knock down the door or something! Yes, I’m a wuss.

    My BF and her hubby will drive me around in the city, no biggie, but a hotel room would give me somewhere to park my car 😉 Good idea with the park and ride lots –

    You’re seeing them in OCT! SUHWEET! I’ll have to compare notes with you!!

  4. Finn August 28, 2008 at 3:53 pm #

    If you’re not going to sleep there’s no point in the hotel room. But 3 1/2 hours is a long time if you’re tired.

    Me? I take the hotel room.

  5. Sarena August 28, 2008 at 4:13 pm #

    I am not a fan of night driving! Hit a deer on the way home from a concert this year-and that was WAY scarier than Jason getting me in a hotel room! 😉 My vote is for what is most safe, and hotel room seems to be the way to go. Did you look on expedia.com? I am in Canada, so not sure how close the hotels are to where you want to go, but when I look in Boston, I see hotels from $59 and up. If all you’re doing is sleeping, you wouldn’t need anything fancy.

  6. Jenera August 28, 2008 at 4:27 pm #

    First of all, I am SO jealous you get to go see them!!

    Second, if you can drive at night with no problems, I’d do that. I hate spending that much money for a freakin’ bed.

    You could try Hotwire, Orbitz, or anything like that for a cheaper room.

    why can’t you crash at your friend’s house?

  7. Randi August 28, 2008 at 6:40 pm #

    Her place isn’t big enough – she lives under her in-laws home in a small apartment – apparently everything there is too expensive to buy!

  8. JM August 28, 2008 at 11:16 pm #

    If you’ve exhausted all search methods and are absolutely positive you can’t find a room under $90 (and you should be able to – there are discount websites all over the place), then why not drive, say, half an hour out of the city and find a cheaper hotel there?

  9. Randi August 29, 2008 at 2:57 am #

    believe it or not, my BF doesn’t live right in the big city, but I will start searching around for some other hotels. I’m about ready to just drive home LOL. Even Scott’s agreeing with me!

Leave a comment