Time to Rat Out Another “Internet Superstar”

24 Mar

I swear I’m not in a bad mood! Although you guys must think I am, first with me dissing Pioneer Woman, and now with this next post.

I am NOT a fan of Dooce.

dooce

There. I said it. You can now feel free to strip me of my “mommy blogging” license.

I know that she’s supposed to be “all that” in the blogging world, and that she’s the best next thing since sliced bread. I’m sorry, I don’t think so.

I mean, I guess she gets some serious credit for turning what was a horrible experience (being fired for blogging about her co-workers) into the ability to be a stay at home, work at home mom who now owns a seriously fabulous house thanks to all of the advertising dollars that she’s gotten from the site (as well as from her book(s) – is there more than 1?).

But me? I don’t care for her.

To start with it seems like she goes through phases where she updates very rarely. Most of what she updates, in my eyes? Is boring.

Is my crap boring? Yeah, probably, but I’m not depending on advertising revenue from this site in order to pay for my mortgage so I’m under no compulsion whatsoever to keep my readers happy.

Wait a tic – I have readers? And advertising? Nope – crap – neither.

Anyway, she makes her livelihood on blogging, so you’d assume that she’d update every day, or at least every Monday through Friday. Nope. sometimes we get a picture in place of a real post. Seriously? That’s a piece of cake.

She writes her daughter’s real name. While I don’t have a problem talking about the stupid things that my children have done on my blog, I NEVER talk about them by name. Toad is Toad and Babygirl is Babygirl – end of discussion. Their real names may come out in an email conversation that I may have had with readers but they’re readers that I’ve been talking to for a LONG time and who I know I can trust.

I’ve also been told that Heather Armstrong (aka Dooce) is also very snobbish when she’s at many of these big blogging conferences – that she doesn’t really take the time to talk to people and that she’s very stand-offish. Now I can’t say for sure that she is or she isn’t – I’ve never seen her talk. But I’ve seen it in more than one place, and on more than one site, and have heard it from more than one person.

The bottom line? Dooce is far more hyped up than she should be. While maybe she was a good blog to read years ago, the site really isn’t as deserving as many hype it up to be.

2 Responses to “Time to Rat Out Another “Internet Superstar””

  1. MrsRobbieD March 30, 2009 at 4:26 pm #

    Hey now I’m a reader of yours I also cut and paste your blogs to a co~worker who is blocked from reading you at our main office so I count as 2 lol.

    Been away for a week and now I’m catching up.

  2. natobean May 17, 2009 at 6:29 am #

    Hi Randi,

    I was just reading your blog & just wanted to point something out to you. While I agree that Dooce’s website sucks, you shouldn’t slam her for using her daughter’s name. You have done the same thing (just once I think, but nonetheless). You mentioned in your 1st post that your children’s names are Austin & Averi, aka Toad & Monster/Babygirl. Just a thought…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

