Pretty Moon

31 Jan

Pretty Moon, originally uploaded by scootersbabygirl.

I read on Twitter (gotta love Twitter) that the moon on Friday was going to be the largest and brightest moon that we could see of the year. So when we got home from grocery shopping, I took out my camera, got my tripod set up, and headed outside to get a few shots.

I forgot to mention that, with the windchill, it was -23 outside. I tried to go as fast as possible so that I could make sure that my camera wasn’t freezing, even though I was.

I remember over a year ago I attempted to get the same type of shot. We’d seen the huge moon on the way home from my mother’s and Scott pulled over so that I could get the shot. I climbed out of the van, did my best to steady the camera using the roof, and fired off a few shots. I was pretty proud of how great they looked.

Then I saw Sherry’s moon picture, taken with the same camera and lens as I had, and immediately wondered what I had done wrong! Hers came out amazing and mine came out crappy!

Fortunately Sherry is a SWEETHEART, and she explained to me how she’d taken the photo.

That is one of the main reasons why my photographs have been able to get better as time has gone on – because of amazing people who have been willing to share their knowledge with me. Now I can take a photo like the one above, thanks to all of the friends I’ve met online.

A woman whom I know in real life said to me the other day that she was thinking of taking college courses online about photography. I told her that she could do what she wished, but that she might want to look at all of the amazing resources available online for all sorts of different types of photographers. There are so many amazing sites, great books, and sweet people who are willing to share what they know that you can learn a great deal to make your photography improve simply by doing your own research.

And I think that I’m living proof of that.

So to everyone who has helped me to learn, and everyone who has encouraged me, I wish to thank you, from the bottom of my heart, for helping me to improve my photography. I’m nowhere near done learning yet, but I’m getting better every day, and it’s thanks to you guys.

3 Responses to “Pretty Moon”

  1. Finn February 1, 2010 at 12:42 am #

    I’m so glad you’re having fun with it and you’ve kept at it. I love your pictures!

  2. Jenera February 1, 2010 at 5:01 am #

    This is a GREAT shot! And I have learned so much too by asking people I know who shoot great shots. It’s always a learning process.

  3. sherry February 1, 2010 at 4:03 pm #

    I’ve never understood people who won’t share their knowledge. A photographer that I follow on Twitter said just yesterday (something along the lines of) if you want to be a good photographer you can’t wish failure for other photographers. And that’s true, there is zero point in learning things and hoarding all the knowledge for yourself.

    I didn’t take any moon pics on Friday because it was so windy that at best it would have moved my camera enough to blur and at worst it might have blown my whole tripod right over, but I did take one on Saturday. I never get tired of moon pictures!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

