Most Amazing Birthday Ever

16 Aug

I have…issues…with my birthday. I always have. Things got worse after I got with Scott and his idea of a birthday was “eh, it’s just another day”. Somehow, though, in the past few years I’ve managed to hammer home the concept that your birthday is YOUR day, no one else’s, and it should be treated as thus, so he’s gone out of his way to make my days amazing.

This year, however, he outdid himself.

Let me set this up – a number of times this summer I’ve gone up to an equestrian stable to take photos for the owner to help her teach the girls as well as to get great shots for her website. So Scott called on her for my birthday to make the day great – we were going to do a trail ride, but since it rained it was decided that we would have an indoor riding lesson! That means I got to see Scott like this:

In the middle of the ring was this!

There was a whole alfresco experience set up for us to enjoy! It was going to be at the top of the hill but again, due to the rain plans got switched, which is more than okay with me because how amazing was this?

So after our lesson we sat down and the owner carted food up from her house. Baked chicken, mashed potatoes, gravy, salad (yeah, I avoided the salad), biscuits, wine, water – it was all there!! And it was all delicious! She also let one of my favorite horses loose in the ring with us during dinner so that we could watch her. She’s a gorgeous black freesian and she even had a ring of fake roses around her neck!

Another glimpse of dinner:

Then, once dinner was over, she had one more treat for us: dessert, of course!

And there was strawberries and melted chocolate as well!!

Today my inner thighs are a bit sore (I rode w/o stirrups b/c I’m too short and she felt more secure with me riding that way) but I am so, so happy. Scott thoroughly outdid himself and then when we got to my mother’s house we enjoyed cake baked and decorated by her and the kids! I feel so loved and appreciated and so very unworthy of such amazing family and friends. My birthday was definitely the best and I told Scott that there’s no way he’ll ever top that.

He sees it as a challenge ;).

5 Responses to “Most Amazing Birthday Ever”

  1. Megan August 16, 2011 at 2:06 pm #

    Well done, Scott.

    Absolutely keep him reaching for the stars – it’s to your benefit!

    Did I miss your birthday? :(

    Happy Birthday, honey! xo

  2. Cherie August 16, 2011 at 2:39 pm #

    Happy bithday Randi, I am so glad you were blessed with not only a great day, but an awesome, understanding husband!

    Cherie

  3. Cinderella August 16, 2011 at 4:02 pm #

    That is totally wonderful. Really impressive. So glad that Scott was so thoughtful and you had such a great birthday!

  4. scootersbabygirl August 17, 2011 at 6:22 pm #

    He did an amazing job and I am so, so thankful for him – every day.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Birthday Boy « If You Can't Say Something Nice… - April 6, 2012

    […] the one day out of 365 that you can call your own. The last few years you have created some amazing birthdays for me, and I so, SO appreciate it. You’re always way better than I am when it comes to […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

