Disappeared

24 Oct

So why did I disappear for, well, awhile? I wasn’t sick, I wasn’t in the hospital, and I sure as hell didn’t go on vacation. I’ve been busy as a one legged man in an ass kicking contest. The photography business? This summer I said it had doubled, but I was wrong – it tripled. Because it tripled I’ve been busy, busy, busy. And now I’m feeling guilty, guilty, guilty.

I bawled last night. Scott held me in his arms and tried to figure out what was wrong, and I finally blurted out: “I didn’t spend any time with the kids this weekend.”

And it was true. Friday night we did our grocery shopping and my cousin came up to spend the weekend (she was my assistant as well), so I caught up with her while Babygirl played with her daughter. Saturday AM we were off for an hour drive and a VERY long wedding. Long and extremely fancy. So fancy my cousin felt out of place and I had to remind her that rich people put their pants on one leg at a time too. Unless they have maids, of course.

Then Saturday I was off for two family shoots and gone for most of the day.

So yeah, I didn’t see the monkeys much this weekend. I realized after I finished crying that the summer was easier because I’m home with them all week, and only gone on the weekends. And then I realized that most of my work is done during the summer right now (no studio…yet), and that I only have to get through a bit more and I’ll be slow all winter and that I can enjoy weekends with them then.

And yet we’re discussing building a studio downstairs. We have the room for it, we just need to clean it out (it’s a large room that’s sort of become our basement since we don’t have an actual basement), paint it white (it’s lime green right now LOL), and I need to get supplies like a backdrop and some additional lighting. The possibilities with owning my own studio would be almost endless, and I love the fact that I may be able to make money as well during the winter months.

I told Scott two years ago, when I built this business, that I wanted to do it slowly. I wanted to put emphasis on making high quality photography affordable again and on providing my for my clients. I told him the other day that I’m like the magician that lets you see what’s behind the magic curtain. I don’t hide my tricks and I have a very different view of photography than almost all photographers I know. I keep my prices low and I love that I can do that, especially in this area of the country where we tend to not make a lot of money.

And better yet if I have a studio in house I won’t have to travel as much, can offer great deals, and can play with my monkeys in between shoots, and that would make them, and me, very, very happy.

4 Responses to “Disappeared”

  1. Cinderella11pm October 24, 2011 at 4:22 pm #

    My empathy to feeling overwhelmed!

    Having your photography studio in your home sounds like a great idea for the reasons you mentioned.
    Plus, then can it be a write-off for tax purposes?

  2. Megan October 24, 2011 at 4:38 pm #

    I’m so thrilled that you’re making a go of the photography business. Sounds like it’s time to take things to the next level. Go for it!

  3. Jenera October 24, 2011 at 5:53 pm #

    I have been overwhelmed too with all my shenanigans-two businesses, school, the kids, Aidan’s school stuff that sucked me, plus everything else that goes with life. I’ve been doing more shoots that humanly possible on the weekends plus some work during the week. Eventually it will all even out.

  4. Sherry October 28, 2011 at 2:18 am #

    I hear you. Since going back to work I haven’t been with the kids as much as I used to be and it’s a tough adjustment. Good for you for growing your business and finding ways to make it work!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

