Keeping Quiet

24 Feb

First a quick update: I’m okay. I’ve had a bit of a setback with the meds – a few side effects that were, well, not pleasant, but I’m still sane, which is always a good thing, right?

I’ve loved starting my photography business. Scott and I are in the process of turning a downstairs room into a studio so that I can do even more portrait work, and I’m so, so thankful that this is a possibility. But while I absolutely love being able to earn money from my passion, there are a few things that I’ve had a difficult time adjusting to, like keeping quiet.

I’m not someone who keeps quiet. When I see something that makes me stop and go, “wait, WTF? Is anyone else seeing what I’m seeing?” it’s really hard for me to shut up. But I know that if I voice an opinion that is considered to be very controversial, I’m likely to lose clients, which I don’t want to do. I’m all about customer service, so I don’t want my individual opinions to make someone believe that I’m not a good photographer.

Good thing I have a blog to vent on, right? :)

Okay, so where I live there was a tragedy a few months ago. A little boy died a few days after he received a vaccine. And I apologize in advance if I’m keeping this fairly generic but – well – damn Google :).

Anyway, this little boy was under 10 and received a vaccine that he had received before with absolutely no ill effects. a few days later he started to get ill and his mother contacted her son’s doctor. Because the symptoms were those of a stomach flu, with a high fever, the doctor (a good one) said that she should give him alternating treatments of motrin and tylenol – something I’ve had to give my own children when they had high fevers.

Two days later the boy was dead.

So what happened? They don’t know so far. The family, and a huge amount of supporters, are blaming the vaccine. The medical examiner has stated that there is no proof yet that the vaccine caused any problems, and that more tests are needed.

EVERYONE is jumping on this bandwagon. My Facebook is filled with people supporting this mother and her family and they’re all talking about how horrible vaccines are – how they’re filled with horrible things and no one should ever have them.

What do I think? My opinion on vaccines is out simply because I honestly haven’t done a huge amount of research on them. No, I’m stopped short because of one thing: if her son was so ill on one day that she called the doctor, and died two days later, what happened in those two days??

No one seems to be asking this question. Her son didn’t get any better. His fever stayed high from what I have been able to tell, and she didn’t call the doctor again until two days after she’d already called him.

I’m sorry, but if my child had a fever for more than 24 hours that was THAT high – so high that he was delusional – you know I’d be contacting the doctor right off. Babygirl and Toad have both had the flu before, and one time when Babygirl had it her fever was so high that she wasn’t making sense. I immediately called the doctor as I was dumping her into a tepid bath and talked extensively with the nurse. She told me to give her the Motrin and Tylenol combo and to watch her temperature as she was in the tub. If, she said, it didn’t go down within fifteen minutes by a certain amount of degrees, I was to instantly call her back again. If, she also said, I felt uncomfortable at all I was to call her back again.

Thankfully Babygirl’s fever started dropping in the tub but I stayed in contact with the doctors office to make sure that she wasn’t going to get more ill.

The poor little boy’s doctor is a good doctor. I’ve had to work with him before and he’s good – he cares. I can’t see him ignoring a child who was seriously ill. Instead I wonder why the mother waited two days to contact the doctor again?

See, here’s my thing: EVEN IF the vaccine was a factor in this boy’s death (and there’s no proof that it was so far), why isn’t this mother being held responsible for waiting so long to get her son medical care? Who’s to say that he wouldn’t have recovered if she would’ve brought him to the doctors a day before he died? That his condition wasn’t treatable?

And yet, I have to stay silent. I feel for the family because they have lost a loved one that should never have been taken, but I am so frustrated with everyone immediately jumping on the mother’s bandwagon without asking questions like “why – WHY did you wait so long?”

5 Responses to “Keeping Quiet”

  1. sherry February 24, 2012 at 3:44 pm #

    I would guess that people aren’t asking because they know that the mother will ask herself that question every day for the rest of her life.

  2. Megan February 24, 2012 at 7:08 pm #

    I’d have to agree with Sherry. It’s still too raw to ask those questions. Easier to blame the “other,” the doctor or the vaccine or both.

  3. Jenera February 24, 2012 at 8:05 pm #

    With things like this, it can be hard to say. Maybe the little guy had moments where the temperature dropped, maybe she was convinced a fever is sometimes normal after vaccines, maybe she didn’t feel well herself. It sounds to me that it was a freak thing all around and maybe no one person can be blamed. Who knows?

    But I do feel your frustration as far as beliefs/opinions in relation to business prospects especially if a community is close knit. I have thankfully not had to deal with it too much in my client base, or potential base, but I think of it all the time.

  4. samm February 24, 2012 at 9:09 pm #

    I agree 110% with u. but not only with why did she wait so long for the doctor but why didn’t she take him to the ER!? I’m sure they could have done something!!!! :-( so sad

  5. scootersbabygirl February 25, 2012 at 3:21 pm #

    It’s so hard for me b/c I know more information about this family and – well – i can’t say anything. I don’t need the trouble that talking about this openly would bring on. But keeping quiet is SO not me. *sigh*.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

