I Don’t Generally Get Into Politics…However…

13 Mar

Me: “Good evening, thank you for calling *insert catalog name here*. My name is Randi, how can I help you?

Her: “Hi, I’d like to get my name taken off your mailing list.”

This happens a billion times a day. People, please realize that your credit card companies sell your names/addresses to catalog companies!

Me: “I can certainly help you with that, can I please have *certain numbers on certain parts of the catalog*”

Her: (after she’s given the numbers) “And I want you to know why I want to no longer recieve this catalog.”

Hardly ever do people tell us WHY they don’t want the catalog…they just say they don’t want it anymore, so this piqued my interest.

Me: “Alright.”

Her: “I was extremely offended to find that in your catalog you have a clock that counts down the amount of time President Bush has left in office. That is EXTREMELY offending. I’m sure you didn’t have anything like that when President Clinton was leaving office!”

Me: “I’m not sure, ma’am. I was not working here during Clinton’s administration.”

Her: “Well it’s extremely offensive! If you didn’t do it for one, you shouldn’t do it for any! And I never, ever want to receive any of your company’s catalogs!”

Do you think I should have reminded her about the fake cigars everyone was selling during the Monica Lewinsky scandal?

As a side note: Susan, I love hearing your side of the story. But I really do feel that by not leaving any way to further contact you (i.e. e-mail or blog) you’re showing that you really don’t want to hear any other side of the story but your own. Please feel free to comment as much as you’d like but remember that you’re showing that you can dish it out, but you can’t take it. And if you notice, I did say that my children have NEVER slept with me, so no, I’m not a co-sleeper in any sense of the word.

Leave a Reply

