Half-Brothers

10 Sep

Alright, I’ve talked about my 3 step-sisters, but did you know I have 3 half-brothers? Yup – when it comes to families, my family is the Brady Bunch and I’m the dog.

Anyway, while my step-sisters are older than I am, my half-brothers are younger. They’re from my sperm-donor, and even though I can’t STAND him, I love them. The oldest two (who are now 21), are twins. The youngest (who’s 17…I think) is his mom’s baby. Of the twins, one is in college and the other is working around here. Now, the sperm donor lives all of 15 minutes from my house, and I haven’t seen him in a few years.

So with MySpace, everyone becomes trackable. I connected with one of my brothers and his long time girlfriend (who are both on there), through the girlfriend’s older sister – she and I had worked together. What caught my attention was that my brother seemed to have a better relationship with his girlfriend’s sister than he did with his own.

His girlfriend has 2 nieces (and soon a nephew), and my brother has tons of pictures on his MySpace, saying things like “my favorite girl”, ect.

This kills me.

Toad and Babygirl are his blood nephew and niece, and he never sees them. The last time he saw them was when we ran into each other at the store earlier this summer and he was extremly uncomfortable. I have no problem with him loving his girlfriend’s nieces, but why can’t he love his own, too?

I recieved a letter in the mail saying that, later this winter, there is going to be a party that I’m invited too on my sperm-donor’s side of the family. Honestly – I’m shocked! I don’t GET invited to things on that side of the family. This means that I’ll have to see/deal with the sperm-donor and my half-brothers.

I’ll have to pretend that it doesn’t bother me that my sperm-donor doesn’t love me like he loves his other children. That it doesn’t bother me that he doesn’t know his only grandchildren. That it doesn’t bother me that the family never invites me to family gatherings. That never recieving a birthday card, or a christmas card from him doesn’t bother me.

*sigh*

I guess it’s good that I’m good at pretending.

Leave a Reply

