Incredibly Sad

19 Dec

Toad and Babygirl are sitting with Scott watching a Jimmy Neutron Christmas. We’ve been watching Christmas specials off and on for a few weeks now, but we’re starting to get hot and heavy into it. The story on Jimmy Neutron is that “Santa Isn’t Real”. Jimmy, of course, does discover the North Pole, but the whole story made me incredibly sad.

It made me realize that we have very few more “believing” years left.

Sooner than we’ll like, we’ll be explaining the entire situation to Toad. We’ll have to tell him to hide things from his sister, so that she can believe for a few more years – and suddenly, some of the magic of life will be gone.

What I wouldn’t give to be able to help him hang onto the magic of life. If, however, he’s an 8th grader or high schooler who believes in Santa, he’ll never forgive me. I guess there’s nothing I can do but to enjoy these years while they are here, right? To foster his imagination with other things when the magic of Santa Claus fades.

*sigh*

In other news, I went with Toad today (Tuesday) to see Alvin and the Chipmunks. Remember I was SO against this movie…well..

*ahem*

I – err – may have – umm – changed….ha ha – my stance.

ALRIGHT! I’ll confess! I ENJOYED THE MOVIE!

I didn’t like that they were so small and thought that a lot of different things would ruin the movie, but as soon as it started they were singing, “You Had A Bad Day” and I half fell in love. A short while after that they were singing, “Christmas Time Is Here”, and I feel head over heels. Don’t get me wrong – there are still things I disagree with – but I will definitely be buying the movie when it comes out.

Dammit.

Leave a Reply

