A Normal Evening

12 Feb

Tonight Scott came home, admired Babygirl’s new dress shoes (I felt horrible! It is the first time I’ve bought her dress shoes! I just never thought about it before!!) – he admired the fact that Toad had done his homework already, and he gave me a kiss. He then thanked me for being calm on the phone when he called at noon – I explained to him that I think I go off on him a bit because he’s really the only adult I have to talk with, especially during the day.

He then lounged on the beanbag while I folded some laundry. We played with the kids and were a combined force when Toad wouldn’t eat his pulled BBQ pork. We chatted and laughed and I watched him wiggle his butt in the kitchen while he was doing the dishes and I cranked up “Faith” by George Michael.

Then, while I was working on my sister-in-law’s taxes, he sat beside me while the kids were on the bean bags watching The Simpsons Movie that we rented.

Tonight was the kind of night that I want all the time. I know that we can’t have it all the time, but 80% of the time, I would like to have evenings like that.

Tomorrow we head to the tax man’s in order to get our taxes ‘professionally’ done – personally I’d rather have a back massage, but they’ve gotta get done, so we’re getting them done. The rugrats get to go to grammy’s for dinner (which they’re eagerly anticipating), and we get to skip dinner to get our taxes done. I usually do them myself, but this is the first year I’ve been offically “self-employed” and I know that there is a lot of stuff I can deduct, so we’ve got to figure it all out. Maybe next year I can do it all!

Anyway, things look like they’re slowly getting back on track with Scott and I – we’re communicating EVERYTHING – every time one of us does something the other appreciates, we make sure to say it. I’m not sure how long this will go on, but right now, it’s entirely necessary and makes me feel much better.

Saturday night we played the Wii together, giggled, and made out like teenagers. This morning when Scott went to work, his co-workers were aghast and asked him what on earth had happened to his neck. He grinned and said, “I had to take care of the wife this weekend.” And boy, did he.

Thank.You.God.

Leave a Reply

