What Is Love?

19 Apr

My SIL came down the other day saying that she was in a funk. She’s not a “chatty Cathy” type, so it took awhile for her to open up and tell me what was wrong. There are a lot of things going on in her life, but I think the biggest one has to do with this statement.

“It may sound stupid, but I don’t know if I’m in love with him anymore.”

She’s been with her boyfriend for a very long time (longer than Scott and I have been together), and she doesn’t know if she’s in love with him. They do not have chilren together, and live in a small trailer. He went from job to job for awhile, but has now found his place in a very stable company where he can make a good amount of money.

I think I know what part of the problem is. My SIL is a born nurturer. She has had to take care of her mother (long story short – her mother is Scott’s biological mother, only he was born five years before her and was adopted and she was left with her mother) for her entire life, and has been taking care of the BF for most of their relationship together (he’s not the smartest cookie in the bunch when it comes to financial matters, ect).

Now, however, things are moving along and she no longer has to take care of everything…or, rather, she’s wondering if she should be taking care of someone that she’s not sure she wants to stay with for the rest of her life.

But she got me to thinking – what is the difference between love and being in love?

You know, I make my living by writing, and even though I will never claim to be the world’s greatest writer, I’m proficient in my profession. Yet I don’t believe that I could write an article explaining how to know the difference between loving someone and being in love with them.

Does being in love mean that you can’t live without someone? I have friends that I love that I don’t want to be without, but I don’t want to jump into bed with them. Does being in love mean that you want to have sex with someone? I want to have sex with Angelina Jolie and/or Brad Pitt, but that doesn’t meant that I’m in love with them.

Can you describe the difference between loving someone and being in love with them?

Leave a Reply

