The Fuel

12 Jun
NOW I’m starting to get worried. I just read an article on MSNBC.com that says that the oil prices we have now (over $4.00 a gallon) could be here to stay throughout next year.

The U.S. Energy Department said prices at the pump will probably stay around $4 per gallon through much of next year.

I can’t afford $4.00 a gallon for my car. I can’t afford to heat my HOUSE next year if this goes on. This is the killer: I’ve been working my ass off trying to earn a living online, and I’m doing fairly well. Yet now that we’re getting ahead, we’re getting knocked back and will not have the funds available to heat our home. We keep discussing all the options, but none seem to work out. This weekend we have a crapload of running around to do – the final baseball game, a secret movie that the kids don’t know about (for the record, the first time we’ve gone with the kids in about six months), and a trip about 35 min away to hit the bread store, buy the kids sandals, buy me shorts, and take daddy out to lunch on Father’s Day. After that, guess what?

The mini-van, she will be parked.

It will only be run if we have to go grocery shopping or we have an appointment of some sort. Say good bye to swimming lessons, say goodbye to driving down to see daddy for lunch “just because”, and the beach will be a fond memory. I know it sucks, but the only way we will be able to afford to do the larger things we want to do, which include going camping for a weekend and visiting a museum that’s about an hour and a half away, is to scrimp on the day-to-day stuff.

My biggest concern right now (other than for heating the house) is for preschool next year. Babygirl’s preschool is 8 minutes away. That’s 8 minutes to get her there and 8 minutes home. That’s 32 minutes of driving time a day, four days a week, which equals to about 2 HOURS of driving time a week. No, there is no preschool closer – in fact, the other preschools are a lot further away. If the prices remain this way, there is a very high chance that we will be unable to afford to put her in preschool next year, which would really bother her and would likely drive me batty. There’s no one to carpool with (in fact, someone wants me to drive their child for them from his daycare) – I just don’t know what to do, but I guess I’ll just have to wait and see what happens and HOPE that the Energy Department is wrong.

Leave a Reply

