My Daughter’s First Boyfriend?

19 Jun
Toad is 3 1/2 years older than Babygirl, which means that he’s in school first, which means that all of his classmates know her. They all, also, love her.

Being that there are only 7 children in Toad’s class (yes, I said 7 – I know you’re jealous), we’re fairly close to most of them. The other day one of Toad’s friends, K, called and asked if Toad could come over.

“Or, if you’re not comfortable with that, I could go down to your house.” He’s so cute.

Anyway, his mother and I talked and today worked out well for both of us. K got here about an hour ago and already I have realized something.

My husband will be killing a lot of boys.

Let me explain – K was sitting in the living room. Toad was in the living room. The Wii was on and they were playing. These two things should have been enough to keep him in the living room, but alas, no. Instead, K asks, “Where did Babygirl go?”

“To play on the computer since you guys were playing on the Wii.”

“Where is the computer?”

“In our bedroom.”

“And where is that?”

“At the back of the house, on the left.”

“Toad, I’ll be right back. I want to see what Babygirl is up to.”

Instead of sitting there and playing, he chose to go see what my little Babygirl was up to. *sigh* I see so many boys who are going to be dead in the next fifteen years, its sad.

I have been productive today! I’m up, dressed, have emptied and re-filled the dishwasher, have done a bit of cleaning, have played Wii for a bit with the kiddos (before K got here, of course – moms are banished from play once other kids are here), and have even made Friendship bread! Whatever energy I’ve got, I’ve gotta bottle it, because it seems to be sorely lacking lately.

Leave a Reply

