More marital woes

25 Jun
I’m not sure what to say.

Last night Scott and I got into another argument. How long has it been since we had our discussion and agreed to try to work things out before they got out of hand? Apparently it didn’t last long.

I was confused at a statement he made, and sat down with him in an effort to try to understand where he was coming from/why he’d said what he’s said. He made a comment and asked a question. I was on the verge of answering that question and opened it by saying, “I’ll tell you, but you’re going to tell me again that I’m stupid, as I’ve told you this before…” and that was as far as I got before he said: “fine. I thought we were doing so well, but apparently not.”

He started to storm off when I said, “but you don’t even know what I was going to say!”

“Don’t I?” he said, and went into the living room where he promptly fell asleep.

I kept working for awhile, cuddled with the dogs, and eventually went to bed, where he tried to make me feel better about the EARLIER conversation, where we’d gotten confused, but never once said anything about storming off, which is one of the things he swore he would work on.

I haven’t talked to him today.

I’m tired. I guess there’s no name for it other than emotional exhaustion. I’m tired of fighting this battle with him, and I can almost feel myself pulling away from him and the whole situation today, so that, if it does end, it will hurt less.

I have been trying my damnest to make things work. I haven’t been fighting, I haven’t been yelling, and I’ve been trying everything that I can think of to make things work. He has too – until last night, when a small situation once again got blown out of proportion…this time it was absolutely because of his attitude and walking off.

I know he’ll call at lunch. I really don’t want to talk to him, simply because I don’t want to fight anymore, and I don’t want to feel worse.

I don’t know what to do.

Leave a Reply

