Spiritual Matters

15 Jul
Okay, I’ve gotta get something off my chest: I don’t get it. I don’t get many religions. Seriously!

I know quite a few people who are very into their religion – who praise their maker and who speak in scripture.

I don’t get it.

This isn’t to say that I’m not religious – it’s just…I don’t know what kind of religious I am.

The hubby and I, as well as the kiddos, are all baptized Protestant. Why? I guess because it was expected of us…we had to baptize them SOMETHING, right? Or they’d “go to hell”.

I am absolutely not a bible thumper. I tend to think of the bible as more of an Aesop’s Fables sort of thing rather than as something you have to follow to the letter. Did a man named Jesus exist? I don’t know. Who’s to say that Jesus wasn’t a con man? I mean, think about this for a second – what if this con man decided he could make a fortune by going around and making people feel better…think of him sort of as an inspirational speaker. He helps them by making little “miracles” happen (ie parlor tricks and magic tricks), and they love him. Instead of showering him with riches, however, they begin to worship him. They follow him around and he begins to like it. Suddenly he’s believing in his own con, and actually thinks he’s the son of God.

Who’s to say it didn’t happen that way?

What – now I’m going to burn in hell, right?

Is there something up there? Is there some divine presence watching over us and dictating our every move like we’re chess pieces? I don’t know.

I don’t know what to tell my children about what happens after you die – saying that you go to “heaven” is an easy answer. Do I believe in a heaven? I don’t know.

I tend to think that you live your lives over and over again – possibly to learn a lesson that you haven’t quite figured out yet. A life lesson. For instance, someone who is a greedy person could be living his life over and over again in an effort to become more giving. Someone who is so shy she missed out on enjoying live could be living her life over and over again to learn how to come out of her shell a bit more so that she can enjoy life. Think Groundhog Day, only lasting a lot longer.

I know that when things get desperate and its something I can’t control – such as when Toad was very sick as a baby, I look to some sort of spirit or guidance to make everything alright. Much like everyone else, I do search for answers – why am I here? If I’m here to learn a life lesson, what lesson is it? Will I make an impact on the world in some way, or when I pass, will I be forgotten like a tumbleweed is, moments after it has passed by?

These aren’t questions that keep me awake at night by any means, but they do pass through my head from time to time.

What I wonder about the most, however, is those people who lets their divine beliefs rule their lives. They find answers in the bible (when it is easy to make the Bible mean anything you would like it to mean – read the right scripture and interpret it correctly and you can make it mean that cell phones are evil) and believe that they can get atonement for their life simply by saying a few Hail Mary’s.

I just don’t get religions like that.

Leave a Reply

