Rain

18 Jul
I love the rain. Have I ever told you that about me? I absolutely, positively love the rain. A good rousing thunderstorm is the best, but a gentle dripping makes me happy as well.

I’m not sure why I love the rain. I just know that if I’m having a rotten, horrible, nasty day, and it starts raining, things look better. Even though the sun is down and there is minimal light, things always look brighter for me when it rains.

I guess I’m living in the wrong state, because in Vermont, we can’t get rain in the winter. Well, we do get rain, its just that it comes down in big fat snowflakes that kind of lose their charm once you’ve had to shovel the driveway clear a few times.

Rain, though, doesn’t stay. It comes down, makes things beautiful, and leaves without leaving any trace behind that it was there in the first place.

I think I love the sound of rain. I don’t like silence much, and when it rains, I throw open all the windows and let all the cool air flow in with the sound of the rain. The “pit-pat” sound soothes me and relaxes me as much as a trip to the ocean does.

I love the way the house gets dark during a thunderstorm. I love that we have to turn on a light to see easily, and I love how the kids sleep later in the morning due to the darkened house.

I’ll deal with having 3 wet dogs to clean off, and having a muddy floor to wipe down. When you love something as utterly as I do the rain, you can put up with a lot.

One Response to “Rain”

  1. Finn July 18, 2008 at 2:18 pm #

    Likey the new look!

    You want rain. Come to Florida in the summer. We got your rain…

Leave a Reply

