Fussiness

24 Jul
I mentioned here briefly the other day that I’m really fussy when it comes to food. Then I realized that I don’t think I’ve ever explained how fussy I am. This is one of the reasons that I have a hard time going to parties and such (not that I’m ever invited, but you get the gist) – I feel horrible turning down a hostess’ offerings, but I really don’t care for a lot of foods, and it’s not their fault!

DISCLAIMER: My sperm donor is extremely fussy, as are a couple of my relatives, which leads me to believe that my fussiness is totally inherited!

Here, in bullets (because bullets are cool) are the foods that I don’t care for.

  • Onions
  • Peppers (any kind of peppers)
  • Tomatoes
  • Lettuce
  • Cabbage
  • Zucchini (yet I love zucchini bread – go figure)
  • Radishes
  • Yogurt
  • BBQ chips
  • Salt and Vinegar Chips
  • Pineapple
  • Coconut
  • Oranges
  • Purple grapes
  • Blueberries
  • Sharp cheddar cheese
  • Swiss cheese
  • COLD coffee (cold coffee is just WRONG)
  • Oysters (Scott eats smoked oysters – NASTY)
  • Any donuts with filling (ewwww)
  • Jello
  • Spinach
  • Celery
  • Pears
  • Cauliflower
  • Rye bread
  • Pumpernickle bread
  • Sweet pickles

That’s the basic list – there are plenty of things I’ve never tried, but this is the basic list. Basically, if you make something and it’s got one of these ingredients in it/on it? I won’t care for it. (with the exception of zucchini bread and blueberry muffins – no, I don’t get it either, but I go for it – oh, and I like orange juice, but not oranges – I think it’s a texture thing on that one).

I know a lot of people who have said that I’m only fussy because it’s “all in my head”. Dude – it totally isn’t. I don’t like what I don’t like! So what DO I eat?

Meat – I’m a total meat eater. I love almost any kind of meat – seriously! Chicken, beef, pork, fish – you name the meat, I’ll eat it. I love meat.

Vegetables – I do eat some veggies! I swear! Side dish veggies are my veggies…green beans, corn, sweet peas, even turnip and broccoli. I tend to like my veggies killed, however, with very little life left in them.

Fruits
– this is definitely the food group I eat the least, and probably need to eat more of, however, when you couple fruits with my sugar issues, it makes sense that my body doesn’t crave them very much. I mean, fruit juice and fruits seem to make my insulin work harder than artificial sugar does. Right? That’s my story and I’m sticking to it.

So yeah, fussy eater here. And don’t even get me started on drinking! I don’t care for any alcoholic beverage where you can taste the alcohol. Girly drinks like Blue Hawaiians and wine coolers? I’m totally there.

Now you’re totally going to un-invite me from any party you were going to invite me to before, right?

Leave a Reply

