Hell Hath Frozen Over

31 Jul
The sperm donor came to Toad’s soccer game last night.

Seriously.

For those of you just joining in with our local programming, the sperm donor and my mother divorced when I was, like, 16 months old (okay, they SEPARATED when I was 16 months old – they divorced a few years later when he found a new woman he wanted to marry). I haven’t had much to do with him since I was young. When Toad was born, I wrote him a letter and explained that if he would like to get to know his grandchild, I would like to give him the opportunity, but that it had to be my way, which basically meant a few rules:

  1. If you want to see any grandchildren, you should call first.
  2. If you call and tell us you’d like to come over, you need to follow through.
  3. If you make a promise, you need to keep it.

That’s it. Apparently it was too much for him, and I was suddenly “dead” to him.

Fast forward 7 years.

I’ve seen him a few times, but nothing major. He’s met both the kiddos, but they don’t know who he is. Then, at the half-brothers graduation, he talked about wanting to be “their grandfather”. I told him that he had to earn it by visiting them and spending time with them.

Yesterday he called “just to say hi”. I mentioned the soccer game. He showed up to it. Then bought us ice cream afterwards.

Can you spell “baffled”?

When we left he said, “I’ll talk to you soon.”

I’m telling you, hell has frozen over.

On a good note, I got to spend today with my mother and the kiddos. We went to the closest “city” and got some school shoes for the kids, and a dress for my friend’s wedding in September! I’m actually planning ahead. I think I’m shocked.

So now I’m searching for shoes. The dress is black and white and is, I guess, technically a sun dress? I wear a size 6 1/2 wide. Got any suggestions?

Leave a Reply

