About Me

14 Aug

Let me tell you something about me that you probably didn’t know.

I hate my birthday (which is August 15th).

It’s not growing older that I hate, exactly, but rather something else.

See, in my opinion, your birthday is YOUR day. Sure, you share it with hundreds of other people all around the planet, but in your little world, it’s YOUR day, so that day should revolve, well, around YOU.

It wasn’t bad when I was younger. My mom always did everything she could to give me a great birthday. I think it was after I started having children that I craved that “Randi day” more than anything. The only problem? It stopped existing.

It was like my mom and everyone else sort of forgot my birthday, or rather that my birthday wasn’t really as important now that I was an adult as it was when I was really little. I’m sorry, maybe I’m selfish, but I really, REALLY like having a day all to myself, where I get a bit pampered and can feel like Randi for once and not just a “mom” and “wife”.

Last year…last year was the worst. I tend to kind of dip into a depressive state whenever my birthday is anywhere near, and last year was even worse, because my gram had died four months before my birthday. She always used to call me up on the phone in the morning and sing Happy Birthday to me, and she wasn’t there to do that anymore. No one had said anything about doing ANYTHING for my birthday, not even my mom!

In our family, you get to have whatever dinner you’d like for your birthday. I love this tradition – it’s one that I’ve brought on to Toad and Babygirl (who usually choose chicken nuggets). But last year? My mother hadn’t asked what I wanted for dinner, and Scott…well…he can’t cook for crap, but even HE didn’t ask. My mother, however, finally showed up at my house and we did have dinner, so it was salvaged a bit.

Actually, now that I think about it, 2 years ago was the worst birthday I ever had. Two years ago Scott was trying to put together a dinner that I didn’t want, and I didn’t even get a birthday cake until I mentioned something about it around 7 at night and he drove to the store to buy one. Yeah, that birthday totally sucked.

The thing is, Scott sees your birthday as “just another day”. I don’t. That’s where we mix. He didn’t understand why I got so upset over things. He SWORE that he had plans for last year, but I never saw any of those plans come to fruition.

This year? This year I’m trying something different. I’m trying to just enjoy the day as much as I can. I actually think Scott’s up to something, as he’s been on the phone quite frequently this week. He did come to me and say that he has some plans set up and that we’ll be busy until 4 or so. When I asked if I could go grocery shopping after taking the kiddos swimming, he said I couldn’t, so that’s something. I actually am hoping that it is the thing I’d really, REALLY like to do (and have mentioned to him numerous times), but I’m trying not to get my hopes up too much.

My mother as well has said that she has some plans. I believe they include driving to her house, eating dinner, and drinking with her friends. This sounds good, and while I’d almost rather have an evening along with the hubby for some drinking and debauchery, I’ll take what I can get and hope that she’ll watch the kiddos overnight at a later date.

How do you feel about your birthday?

3 Responses to “About Me”

  1. PinkPiddyPaws August 14, 2008 at 2:10 pm #

    just don’t be upset if Scott wasn’t actually up to something, okay? OKAY?? He is a man after all and they aren’t good at understanding us! πŸ™‚

    In the mean time — Happy 1 day early Birthday!!!

    xoxoxo

  2. JM August 14, 2008 at 11:50 pm #

    People started forgetting about my birthday when I was a teen, so… I pretty much forgot about my birthday this round until the hubby mentioned something. I guess I stopped caring too much because my birthday has never really been about just me. It was a social event for the family, a drama stage for some of my more dramatic ‘friends’ or, like what happened later, just forgotten.

    But I don’t hate my birthday. It is what you make of it. If you think it’s going to be bad, it will be. If you think it’s going to be good, you might have to take a more active hand in making it good, but it can be.

    πŸ˜› I’m preachy this morning.

    Happy day from Oz.

  3. Hollydol August 15, 2008 at 3:07 am #

    My Mom always made a huge deal of my birthday and the last couple years have certainly been a let-down. Last year, my birthday fell on Memorial Day. My friends are all wrestling fans. When my fiance and I decided to have a little get-together, he called people saying,”Hey, come over and watch RAW! Oh yeah, and it’s Holly’s birthday.” NOBODY paid attention to me. I literally walked out the front door with my cake and nobody saw me or said a thing.

Leave a Reply

