I Did Something…

18 Aug

I did something that I never thought I’d actually be able to say that I did. Its something I’ve been wanting to do, but haven’t had the courage to do until now. I’m not afraid to admit that I was extremely scared of doing this, but now that I’ve begun, I think I actually like it. It’s kind of exhilarating, and I’m actually looking forward to doing a lot more of it. It doesn’t seem quite as intimidating as it once did, and I now believe that I can meld it into my life seamlessly.

I started my novel.

I know, I know – everyone says they can write a novel, just like everyone says they can be a professional photographer. My dream has always been to see my name on the cover of a novel on a store shelf. I’m not looking for fame and fortune, but rather to tell a good story that people will enjoy.

The only problem was that I had tons of ideas going in my head for stories, but most of them were just partial stories, and I really couldn’t flush them out. I’m not a short story teller (I wish I could be), and I don’t tend to read them often, so I knew the story would have to be long enough to be novel worthy.

A week or so ago, the story entered my head. Actually, it wasn’t quite the story, but rather the character. The girl. She got stuck in my head and the scene of her swinging on the swings, alone and feeling unloved, truly struck a chord with me. I started trying to focus on who she was, and why she was alone, and the idea began to form in my head.

Her name currently is Carly, although I’m sure it will get changed before she and I are done. There are other characters, as yet unnamed, but they are slowly forming in my head, gelling, as it were.

I am extremely excited about this. I’ve given the first page or so to my best friend, who is a voracious reader and who is actually really excited to continue reading the story (of course, she could be totally lying to me). She already caught a continuity issue, and I have a feeling she’s going to become my unofficial editor LOL.

But all in all, I’m really, REALLY excited to begin working with Carly and the others. Want to help? I need some names for women and men. What are your favorite names for women and men??

3 Responses to “I Did Something…”

  1. Finn August 18, 2008 at 4:40 pm #

    Good luck! And don’t worry about the names, just think about the character and he or she will tell you what his/her name is. Promise.

  2. JM August 19, 2008 at 1:48 am #

    Yay! I’m excited for you. ๐Ÿ™‚ (I’m also available as a secondary editor down the road. ๐Ÿ˜‰ )

    As for the names, well, if you’re like me then you’ll probably do well to get a baby name book or two. Hehe. They’re excellent to have around.

  3. Christy August 22, 2008 at 7:52 pm #

    That’s fantastic! The names will definitely come to you as the characters evolve.

    I’ve written three quarters of a novel but I’m having a hard time finishing it.

    Best of luck on your new book:)

Leave a Reply

