Guilty Pleasure Movies

2 Sep

We had a really good time at the corn maze yesterday and almost came home with a kitten! If only Scott wasn’t the adult in this family – jeez. All right, so we don’t need another animal in this house…but they were so cute! You can see the photos of our corn maze adventure on the flickr acct.

I haven’t had much time to watch movies lately as I’ve been as busy as possible on this dumb desktop (please laptop, come back home soon!), and it got me to thinking about guilty pleasure movies. You know the ones – the movies that you are sort of ashamed to admit that you love but that you couldn’t live without? Here are my top three guilty pleasure movies.

“I have forgotten that men cannot see Unicorns. If men no longer know what they’re looking at, there may be other unicorns in the world yet, unknown, and glad of it.”

Oh the Last Unicorn – this is my chicken soup of movies. I can watch this film and can instantly feel better about everything in my life. If I had to choose one movie to take with me on a deserted island, THIS would be the movie. This film has been in my life since I was very little and living in Florida. I love Unicorns to this day, and while I avoid having much unicorn decor in my home, I do have a unicorn tattoo to remind me to always be young and to believe in things that everyone says couldn’t possibly be true. Some of my favorite quotes have come from this movie, such as:

Unicorn: You are a true wizard now, as you always wished. Does it make you happy?
Schmendrick: Well… men don’t always know when they’re happy. But I – I think so.

Schmendrick: It’s a very rare person who is taken for what he truly is.

Prince Lir: No. My lady, I am a hero. Heroes know that things must happen when it is time for them to happen. A quest may not simply be abandoned; unicorns may go unrescued for a long time, but not forever. A happy ending cannot come in the middle of the story.

“Dear Bill and Ted, good luck on the report. Sincerely, Bill S. Preston, Esquire and Ted ‘Theodore’ Logan.” That was nice of us. “P.S. Duck!”

I love this movie. Seriously, I love this movie! What’s not to love?! It’s absolutely hilarious! I quote from it all the time – Scott and I can spend hours trying to one-up each other when it comes to quotes. Believe it or not, however, I don’t have the DVD!!! For some reason I never think to buy it (and I have a hard time spending money on myself anyway). Whenever it’s on TV, however, I can’t avoid it. I see the name of the movie and click over quickly, grinning, and quoting it almost word for word. Some of the best quotes?

Ted: OK wait. If you guys are really us, what number are we thinking of?
Bill, Ted: 69, dudes.

Ted: This is a dude who, 700 years ago, totally ravaged China, and who, we were told, 2 hours ago, totally ravaged Oshman’s Sporting Goods.

Bill:
So-crates – “The only true wisdom consists in knowing that you know nothing”.
Ted: That’s us, dude.


Annie:
I don’t belong here, I feel it, don’t you think I feel it. I can’t do any of these vile things and I wouldn’t WANT to. Oh, my life is like death. My children are the spawn of hell, and you’re the devil. Oh God.
Dean:
But baby, we LIKE you.

Overboard – the romantic movie to end all romantic movies. What’s so romantic about it? It’s GOLDIE HAWN and KURT RUSSELL! These two have more chemistry together onscreen than almost any couple I could even think of! The story is absolutely wonderful and I can’t help but be smiling and grinning like an idiot at the end of the movie…and when he first kisses her…and when he buys her the washing machine…and just about all the way through the damn movie, actually! Scott, however, is very intolerant of this film and quickly escapes whenever I throw it into the DVD player, so I wind up watching it by myself – which is exactly the way I like it! Favorite quotes?

Annie: I’m a short, fat slut.

Annie: But WHAT? My children are in need of medical assistance! And you can sit here and smugly lecture me on the importance of tests? Tests which exist to pigeonhole childrens potential, a thing which cannot *possibly* be measured, least of all by anal compulsive HUNS! And my husband may be a “large child,” but that’s none of your business! And my children may be rotten, but they’re MINE. And I think that they’re bright, and sensitive, so I have no doubts whatsoever about their intelligence. I do however have *serious* doubts about YOURS.

Dean Proffitt: You know what your problem is?, You are so god damn bored you have to invent things to bitch about. You don’t have a single thing to do on this earth except for your hair, the closet was fine, you just needed something to fill up your useless, nail polishing, toe polishing, rich bitch, sun tanning days.

Now I usually NEVER tag people, but this time I’m going to! I want to know what your top three guilty pleasure movies are, especially:

Finn

CinnKitty
JM

What are YOUR Guilty Pleasure movies?!

4 Responses to “Guilty Pleasure Movies”

  1. Finn September 2, 2008 at 2:32 pm #

    This is gonna be hard… I can’t think of any off the top of my head.

    I’ll have think about it. Damn you… making me think! 😉

  2. PinkPiddyPaws September 2, 2008 at 10:01 pm #

    Son of a…. dammit woman, I just DID the 7 things from Queenie! Why do you hate me? why?? why?? WHHHHHHHYYYYYYYY??????

  3. PinkPiddyPaws September 3, 2008 at 6:06 pm #

    Ummm…okay… uhhhh… wow, I haven’t thought about “The Last Unicorn” in like — forever! cute, cute movie.

    And I will pretty much always stop if I see Overboard playing. 🙂

    I would have to say (out of the movies that I actually OWN) that my 3 guilty pleasures would be:

    Labyrinth
    Legally Blonde
    Blast From the Past

    There you have it. 🙂

  4. Heidi September 4, 2008 at 2:54 am #

    Overboard is one of my all time favorite movies!! I love this one. Ahh, romance. Good stuff.

Leave a Reply

