Blast from the Past

5 Sep

We were going through some old photos looking for the perfect picture of my grandmother to put on our memory wall. I’m being really fussy about it, but it has to be perfect. Fortunately for me, I found it. Unfortunately for me, I found some other photos along the way. One photo shows how naive I used to be – meet 18 year old Randi and her first EVA boyfriend, D.


Yes, those are D’s pants – and didn’t I feel important wearing them? D was a bit of a daredevil. He liked to jump off of anything high. I met him in martial arts class and a short month later I was losing my virginity.

Kinda like how I jumped into the sack with Scott after 6 hours. I work quickly apparently!

D was, and still is, an inherently nice guy. Unfortunately, he fell in love with someone else while we were dating. We were together for almost 2 years and then I met some strange guy wearing suspenders who was sitting at my mother’s kitchen table. The jerk had the gall to make my head spin and knock my socks off, and sooner than later we were having a baby, getting married, and buying a house.

Let’s check out the similarities in D and Scott.

  • Both have dark black hair
  • Both have goofy grins
  • Both have an athletic type of build
  • Both have been mistaken for being gay
  • Neither has hair on their chests
  • Both have dark brown eyes
  • Both are fairly short

Then I realize that D would have been not only a horrible husband, but a horrible father for any children we would have had together. I also remember how long that year and a half seemed with him, while the last almost-9 years with Scott have seemed to fly by.

I definitely got the better end of the deal.

4 Responses to “Blast from the Past”

  1. PinkPiddyPaws September 5, 2008 at 12:53 am #

    Awwwww…look at you! especially with the photo on the side.. holy crap woman! look at the smile. 🙂

    Oh, and you just called Scooter, short! bwa..ha.ha.ha..!

  2. Sherry September 5, 2008 at 2:19 am #

    Aww, that’s cute. It’s amazing how quickly time flies with the right one. 🙂

  3. Randi September 5, 2008 at 12:28 pm #

    KittyWell, he IS short! Only height wise though…
    SherryI know – still debating on the “right one” thing, though LOL – kidding, kidding!!

  4. Heidi September 6, 2008 at 6:22 am #

    How FN sweet is that!!

Leave a Reply

