Dear Senator McCain

5 Sep

The following is a political post – done my way. If politics isn’t your thing, read along to enjoy the snarkiness instead 😉

Dear Senator McCain,

I would like to thank you. Seriously! Oh I know, you’ve gotten tons of people harping on you right now and you definitely are not the favorite person to most people in the US, but I am on your side. Really! What?! Why are you looking at me so strangely? Okay, I know, I have been an active Obama supporter for awhile now, that’s true, but I still want to thank you.

See, before a week or so ago, I thought that the election would be fairly close. I mean, on one side you’ve got Obama. The fact that he’s a black man is enough to throw off tons of voters, but the fact that he’s bringing hope back into the world seals it for many – there are some people who just don’t want to hope. He’s an unknown and “different”, so I knew that there would be tons of voters who chose to elect you simply based on the fact that you were a white man who had been a veteran and who has been in the political world for quite awhile.

Obama selected Senator Biden for his running mate – a man who has the foreign experience that he lacks and who, it has been documented, is not afraid to tell Obama when he thinks he’s on the wrong track.

And who do you select? Govenor Palin. What attracted you to her? Is it the fact that she’s extremely conservative? Is it the fact that “in 2007, the Alaska Creamery Board recommended closing Matanuska Maid Dairy, an unprofitable state-owned business. Palin objected, citing concern for dairy farmers and a recent infusion of $600,000 in state money. Palin subsequently replaced the entire membership of the Board of Agriculture and Conservation”, basically changing up an entire board of people to ensure that she got her way – oh, and by the way, the business was closed a few months later and sold for a very low amount a year afterwards.

Or, did you choose her, Senator McCain, because she’s a woman and you’re hoping to get the female voters who were waiting for Hilary Clinton to step up at the democratic convention (side note: thank you, Senator Clinton, for keeping your mouth shut that day – we all appreciate it)?

Whatever your reasons for choosing a govenor who has absolutely no experience in the foreign trade and whos biggest political achievement before a year and a half ago was being mayor of a city that had 9,000 people in it (which is smaller than the “city” next to me which, to put it into perspective, has no Starbucks, no malls, no delivery pizza, one factory, the only hospital in the area, and no Walmart or Target…basically it’s just buildings, a grocery store, a Wendy’s, a play park, and lots and lots of NOTHING.), I thank you.

Due to your decision, you’ve opened up a huge, non-ending closet for the media to fish into and you’ve made it much easier for those people on the fence about voting for Obama to slide over to his side.

Thanks!

Sincerely,

Randi – a HUGE Obama Supporter

Edited to Add: Oh I SO just found this and it is ABSOLUTELY HILARIOUS! Why hasn’t anyone told me to watch the Daily Show before? This was on the other night:

5 Responses to “Dear Senator McCain”

  1. PinkPiddyPaws September 5, 2008 at 1:19 pm #

    never…talk..politics…with…my…friends…

    okay woman… back to non-political posts so I can actually leave comments. 😛

  2. Randi September 5, 2008 at 1:29 pm #

    LMAO – okay, okay, I promise, I’ll leave the politics alone – next round I’ll have photos from my parents marriage…that ought to be something to laugh about!

  3. Finn September 5, 2008 at 3:06 pm #

    Thank you for reminding me about this video! Britt mentioned it on Twitter yesterday, but I can’t watch videos at work!

    Oh, btw, did you know that John McCain was a POW? In Vietnam? For five years? 😉

  4. Anonymous September 5, 2008 at 6:29 pm #

    In a poll done after Sarah Palin delivered her speech, she had a 58% approval rating. This was higher than either McCain or Obama. She also helped out McCain’s numbers among a lot of voters as well, so I don’t think the race is quite over yet.

  5. Randi September 5, 2008 at 9:25 pm #

    She had a good approval rating. Huh. Wonder why Obama raised 10 million after her speech then 😉

Leave a Reply

