Cell Phones – Come On!

16 Sep

I went to pick up Babygirl from preschool yesterday (which they’re not calling playgroup – wtf?) and noticed a father coming to pick up his son. This particular father doesn’t often pick his son up, so it was a bit of a surprise. A few moments after we got into the building, however, I noticed that he was doing something.

He was talking on his cell phone.

While he was talking on his cell phone had grabbed his son’s stuff out of his cubby, shoved it into the backpack, took his hand and walked out. No “hi”, no “hey buddy! How was school?” Nothing.

Was he talking to a doctor about a loved one’s impending death? No. He was talking about work.

Now I’ll be the first to say that it’s not easy to blend work and a family, but every morning I work from the minute I get home from dropping Babygirl off until I head to get her a bit before 11. Then I come home, have lunch with her and play with her until about 1:30, when she enjoys rest time and I get more work done until Toad comes home. Then I play with them both for a bit and dispense snacks and the night goes on (I do work in the evenings usually but always take time out to have dinner with the family).

I would never, EVER walk into my daughter’s preschool with a cell phone attached to my ear – even if I had one!

And you could see on the little boy’s face that he was sad and yet resigned. He was used to it. He’s a really sweet kid – fortunately his mother’s a bit more of a class act than his father is.

3 Responses to “Cell Phones – Come On!”

  1. Finn September 16, 2008 at 2:58 pm #

    Any time I see Mister doing something dumb like that I call him on it. Mom should sit Dad down and explain why this is NOT good.

    Poor little kid.

  2. PinkPiddyPaws September 16, 2008 at 8:14 pm #

    What? Is there a problem? Don’t you know that in today’s hustle and bustle world kids are more of an afterthought? A tax write off? A display to trot out when the boss comes over for dinner? Business is so much more important! If there was no business, there would be no money, if there was no money then little Johnny wouldn’t get to have all those cool toys and stuff.

    (uhhh..yeah… I’m being sarcastic!)

    And we wonder why kids these days have problems? Classic..just classic.

  3. Heidi September 17, 2008 at 6:54 am #

    Was it my husband? It amazes me that people don’t treat their kids with a little more respect and consideration. Ugh!

Leave a Reply

