Frost line

25 Oct

.flickr-photo { border: solid 2px #000000; }.flickr-yourcomment { }.flickr-frame { text-align: left; padding: 3px; }.flickr-caption { font-size: 0.8em; margin-top: 0px; }


Frostline, originally uploaded by scootersbabygirl.

Those of you who don’t live in cold – ie mother fucking freezing – climate don’t know about one of the most fun things you can do on any given morning – watch the frost line recede!

The frost sets in during the night and does everything it can to kill all of the plants in the area. In the morning, the sun does its best to push the frost back. While it’s warming up, you can see the frost line – the area where the shade still protects the frost from melting.

I actually like watching the frost slowly, but surely, disappear. I also have a strange tendency to think that I should walk over to the line and jump from one side to the other yelling out “LIFE DEATH LIFE DEATH LIFE DEATH”.

Yeah, I know, I’m weird like ‘dat.

4 Responses to “Frost line”

  1. Winnie October 25, 2008 at 1:18 pm #

    Love this picture! I have to say that your photos with your new camera have been great. I am really enjoying them.

  2. Sherry October 25, 2008 at 2:04 pm #

    We’ve been having way too much frost lately. Day time isn’t too bad but at night it drops down below freezing and I’m just really not ready for another Montreal winter. After 34 years you would think I’d be used to it but… no.

  3. Randi October 26, 2008 at 1:29 pm #

    Yay! Thank you Winnie! I love my new camera too! Now to get more time to play with it!

    Sherry – I know! We’ve had tons of frost too! None yesterday or this morning though – yay!

  4. PinkPiddyPaws October 27, 2008 at 7:56 pm #

    nope ..that whole life/death thing is totally cool (at least in my book) because it really is.. sun=’s warmth =’s life… frost=’s cold =’s death. You rock!

Leave a Reply

