Sunsets

7 Nov

Yesterday was rather rough. Considering that I was really tired (note to everyone: Randi doesn’t do well when she’s exhausted), and that the school called and I had to pick Toad up because he’d thrown up at lunch (ewww), it was definitely one of “those” days.

Sometimes I actually get stressed about the idea of Scott coming home from work. I look at the dishes I didn’t get into the dishwasher yet, or the mess on the table still there from Babygirl’s watercoloring adventures, or the pile of laundry I should have found the time to fold and feel guilt that I didn’t get things done. After all, he works outside of the home and I work in – I should be able to find a few free minutes here and there to pick things up, right? (working on this)

I heard him walk through the door and mentally groaned. He came upstairs, deposited his lunchbox, said hi to the kids, and jumped on me. Literally. I was laying prone on the couch, hoping that maybe if I kept my eyes closed long enough I’d actually feel like I was floating in a warm Tahiti waters, when this great glob of MAN landed right on top of me.

He pinned me down and kissed me and, with a grin, asked how my day had been. He knew it was rotten as he’d called during his lunch break. I refrained from complaining and instead let myself be enfolded into his hug.

Instead of running around and picking things up that I forgot, which he usually does, he moved beside me and let me rest my head on his shoulder for awhile. The kids eventually came running in and thought it was GREAT! FUN! to have mom and dad both prone on the couch, and so proceeded to jump on us. Those few minutes of peace, however, when I was able to feel his strength and his comfort, were enough to help me get my third wind.

It’s been unseasonably warm outside lately, so before supper (when I began folding laundry), Scott took the kids outside. The next thing I knew he was pounding on the back door telling me to grab the camera and head outside. What I saw was the most beautiful sunset I’d seen in awhile. We stayed outside playing around for a bit and I watched the colors change from one minute to the next.

Eventually the color went away and the sky darkened, changing as everything, even a relationship, does. But I was able to jump into Scott’s arms and get another of his world class hugs, knowing that, at least for that night, he was everything I needed him to be.

.flickr-photo { border: solid 2px #000000; }.flickr-yourcomment { }.flickr-frame { text-align: left; padding: 3px; }.flickr-caption { font-size: 0.8em; margin-top: 0px; }


Sunset 2, originally uploaded by scootersbabygirl.
2 Responses to “Sunsets”

  1. Finn November 7, 2008 at 4:03 pm #

    So what are you doing all day? Sitting on the couch eating bon-bons? Or working and taking care of the kids when they’re not in school?

    Don’t be too hard on yourself. If you’re just not doing it, kick yourself in the butt. If you are too busy to do it, you need some help.

    Guilt is a waste of energy.

  2. Jenera November 7, 2008 at 5:08 pm #

    Sometimes men can be perfect, right?

    I get the guilt thing going too and I’ll mention it to the hubby but for the most part, he doesn’t care. As long as things are clean for the most part, we’re good.

Leave a Reply

