A Little Advice Please?

10 Nov

I know some of you are parents – and I know others of you aren’t. Either way, I think you can help me out with the situation going on now.

When we went to Babygirl’s preschool meeting with her teacher (whom I have issues with anyway), we discussed how advanced she is – although I hate using that term, she truly is. She can do everything she needs to do to not only be in Kindergarten, but to almost pass kindergarten! She’s learning how to read (by continually asking me how to spell crap), and she can do addition and subtraction! It’s ridiculous!

Anyway, at the meeting he mentioned that she hadn’t gotten bored…yet…but that they’d deal with it when it occurred.

Newsflash: she’s gotten bored.

Last week I had to almost shove her out the door to get her to go to preschool, and I let her stay home on Thursday. Today I, once again, had to cajole her to leave the house and go to preschool. Why? It may have something to do with the conversation we had on Wednesday. It went something like this:

Babygirl: “Mom – how come I have to glue cheerios onto a piece of paper? I’m not a baby.”
Me: “I know you’re not a baby honey. Some of the other children, though, are younger and can’t do as much.”
Babygirl: “But I’M not a baby.”

It’s true – they were gluing cheerios. What were they gluing? One cheerio for the number one. Two cheerios for the number two. Three cheerios for the number three.

I think she’s a bit past that as she can add one and two and three together.

Now I know that the class can’t revolve around her, and I’m not asking that. I am, however, seriously wondering if I should withdraw her from preschool for the rest of the year. Yes, I know, I’m risking my sanity. But it’s getting to the piont where she is hating to go to school. At the age of four. This, to me, doesn’t bode well for the rest of her academic career.

On the other hand, I hate to pull her away from social situations. And I really hate to lose my 2 hours of freedom every morning (not that I get much done, considering that I have to run back and forth constantly with bringing her and getting her).

Any advice?

5 Responses to “A Little Advice Please?”

  1. Katie November 10, 2008 at 4:52 pm #

    Hey you! If you want to keep BabyGirl in preschool, her teacher should be able to accommodate for her. For instance, when the other kids are gluing cheerios for one, two, three, she might glue them in addition form – which would also be a good visual way to learn math. There are tons of ways to accommodate for different paced children in the classroom – the teacher should know how to do this – and definately should be willing to. If not, you could either keep her home and do learning stuff with her or use preschool as a social outlet instead of a learning one. She’ll probably be like this throughout school, and her teachers should be able to give her more advanced work. Hopefully!

  2. Jenera November 10, 2008 at 6:39 pm #

    I think they should either work with her to fulfill her needs or you need to look into another program/preschool. These days it should be easy to find a place for advanced little ones. It would be a shame for her to already deal with being ‘bored’ because she’s a smart cookie.

  3. MisstressM November 10, 2008 at 8:28 pm #

    I found the same problem with my daughter. And the way we fixed it was by her being teacher’s special help. After she finished her work she would help her neighbor better understand how to do the assignment. Just the challenge of teaching others was enough to keep her from getting bored.

  4. JM November 10, 2008 at 10:10 pm #

    Mistress M has a great idea. Also, you could get her some advanced colouring/workbooks and use those as incentives for getting her to go.

  5. Renee November 24, 2008 at 6:57 am #

    My boyfriend’s son gets bored in school. He is very smart and finishes work early and then causes problems by acting out b/c he is bored. Teacher does nothing to keep him occupied. He loves math and likes to do connect the dot puzzles and mazes, so I searched the Internet for math problems and puzzles and printed them to go in a huge activity binder that he takes to school for times that he runs out of things to do. Stupid teacher should be doing this for him. He’s in 3rd grade and isn’t being challenged.

Leave a Reply

