Polygamist Lifestyle?

17 Nov

I had a rough drop-off with Babygirl this morning, so I came home and decided to watch something I’d taped yesterday – Forbidden Love: Polygamist. It’s a documentary-style show on TLC. Apparently this main journalist is traveling around trying to understand the different family lifestyles in order to help her understand what she wants (although I think she already knows what she wants).

This time she’s traveled to discover what life is in a polygamist family – she spends time with two polygamist families and the only thing that really doesn’t get discussed (well it does, but not to my satisfaction), is what happens in the bedroom.

In one family, the gentleman (who lives in a tiny house with two wives and 9 kids), says that the girls get to decide which bed he’s into – the girls, however, disagree and say that the husband is the one who decides.

Now, here’s the thing – I’ve often wondered how much easier it would be with another wife in this house. You’d have someone to do half the work, someone to help take care of the kids, ect. But I know that it isn’t for me. Why? Because there is no way I can give up cuddle time on the couch with my husband.

Last night he held me and rubbed my arm and nibbled on my ear. Is it just me, or are there other women who would choose cuddling and holding over sex most of the time?

3 Responses to “Polygamist Lifestyle?”

  1. Jenera November 17, 2008 at 3:15 pm #

    I am with you on the cuddling because it is something that just doesn’t happen much. yesterday while the hubby was home we went to a friend’s house just to hang out. It was such a relaxing day because I could sit with him on their couch and just ‘be’ with him.

  2. Heidi November 18, 2008 at 3:32 am #

    I thought it would be great to have a wife for the occasional Bj, but other than that I don’t like to share. I am way too possessive. Although maybe a person to do the dishes, clean the house, change the sheets, hmm… now I am thinking.

  3. MrsRobbieD March 30, 2009 at 6:34 pm #

    Yeah I could totally share the household and kids..But not my husband. lol.
    We had another ‘family’ live with us for 3 weeks til they found a place to live of there own. It was nice to have dinner ready when I got home, someone to help me referee the kids sometimes. But hard for 4 adults and 3 kids and 2 cats to share a space made for 4.

Leave a Reply

