Hunter’s Widow Weekend #2

23 Nov

The first thing you need to know about this weekend was that it went nowhere near as smoothly as last weekend went. Last weekend was good – this weekend? I had a migraine on Saturday. I haven’t had one in a long time (a few months), but because it was just me with the kiddos, I couldn’t take anything strong enough to kill it until the kids went to bed, so i suffered most of the day. It rocked – umm – NOT.

I finally took the meds I needed around 9 pm, though, and slept a lot. Then, this morning, the hubby showed up home early, mainly because he called the night before and knew about my migraine, but also because the other guys had left camp and he didn’t want to hang out by himself. I dropped the kiddos off at my mother’s anyway, giving htem time to play with Grammy and her time to play with them., so that my SIL and I could head to see Twilight.


So now is when I give you my review. To begin with, most of you were wrong – I actually didn’t have to worry at all about getting tickets. In fact, there were FIFTEEN people in the theater, including us. Fifteen. Yeah – that was busy. Apparently us Vermonters are a bit slow to catch onto the newest hyped up thing.

I have read the books and love them. I have issues with some of the writing (as in there are only two main lines I can think of in the first book that are memorable), but the caracters are amazing and that’s what saves the book. So I read them, then I gave them to my sister in law, then we both got hooked and agreed to go see it together.

We went to the theater, which was 45 minutes away (the only one near here showing it) and started watching. I understood why they changed some stuff, and was fine with that. I actually would’ve given the entire movie a B+ or so, IF they hadn’t fucked with the most important part of the movie – the part with Edward and Bella in the meadow. That part? That integral, extremely important, extremely NECESSARY part, was done WRONGLY. Horribly wrongly. As in “I wanted to shut my eyes the entire time and pretend that it didn’t exist” wrongly. My sister in law agreed entirely.

The rest if it was all right, but if you haven’t read the book, my guess would be that you would have no idea what was going on for most of it. I was actually disappointed in the movie. There were a lot of things that could be changed without messing with the original story, and a lot of things that could’ve stayed in.

The best part of the entire trip was spending time with my SIL. She and I don’t spend much alone time together – or time with another woman without kids or men involved, and we had a blast. We laughed the entire way down and home and now I need to make a bumper sticker for her that reads: Caution – Driver Cannot Make Left-Hand Turns. She’s getting it under the Christmas tree, oh yes she is.

One Response to “Hunter’s Widow Weekend #2”

  1. Sherry November 24, 2008 at 12:49 am #

    Now I’m worried because in my head, the meadow scene is so perfect and I’m afraid to see what happened to it on a big screen.

    I loved the first three books. It’s taking me forever to read the 4th because I kind of really hate it. The only reason I haven’t flat-out stopped is that I need to know what happens in the end, but UGH. I hope it gets better soon because I am beyond fed up.

    (Did he get anything? Every time you mention hunting I start salivating just a little, remembering how much I love venison!)

Leave a Reply

