Getting Spoiled

29 Dec

Yesterday we headed to Walmart in order to let the kiddos spend some of their holiday money. My father surprised us by gifting Scott and I with a $50 gift card to Walmart, so we figured we’d look around and see if there was anything we wanted to purchase.

On the trip down we had to stop at an ATM machine to get money out for lunch (Scott’s big for cash) and it happened to be an ATM machine that I used when I was in college. I had a weird flashback – remembering that I would often try to get out something as small as $20 and would often see “insufficient funds”. Yet yesterday I took out $100 and there was enough left to pay the mortgage with – very surreal.

So we hit Walmat with me feeling very appreciative of the things that we have – our house, our vehicles, and most especially our family. That didn’t stop me, however, from badgering Scott to use of the $50 so that we could purchase something I’ve wanted for awhile…


Rock Band 2!!! I’ve wanted Rock Band for a long time, but Scott hated that it was wired – Rock Band 2 is almost all wireless, except the mic and hat has a really long cord. It was definitely over $50, but using the $50 towards it, along with me promising some pretty big things to the hubby, meant that we came home with the LAST Rock Band 2 for the Wii in the back of our minivan.

Scott jumped online to do some work while I hooked the whole thing up (he helped in the end, though, when I couldn’t figure out why the drums weren’t working for some reason – in the end, Babygirl actually accidentally got it working LOL). Then we started jamming. Toad LOVES it!!


Scott eventually jumped on the drums – he used to play drums in high school, and it was very hard to get him off of the drums long enough to eat dinner. He did let our brother-in-law get on the drums for awhile, as he loves the drums too, and between the two of them I learned pretty quickly that Rock Band 2 can make anyone think that they’re truly a rock star!!


So we came home with Rock Band 2 and it left me, once more, loving how hard we’ve worked and how hard we’ll continue to work, in order to give our children, and ourselves, things that we’ve always wanted.

3 Responses to “Getting Spoiled”

  1. Finn December 29, 2008 at 3:53 pm #

    The family that jams together, stays together? 😀

    Glad you got what you wanted. You deserve it!

  2. Jenera December 29, 2008 at 6:39 pm #

    How fun! Glad you had a good Christmas. We did too! It felt good to just ‘be’ with each other.

  3. Misstressm December 30, 2008 at 12:23 am #

    You guys look like you are having WAY too much fun.

Leave a Reply

