Cleaning the Slate for 2009

31 Dec

I’m not sure what resolutions I’m going to make tonight, but I thought that maybe, instead, I should clean the slate about things that are bothering me, or things that I need improvement on, before 2009 begins. Maybe it will help 2009 start off on the cleanest slate possible.

  • I told Scott the other night that I don’t want any more children. Those who have been reading for awhile know that I had an ectopic in the summer of 2007, and that one tube is gone and the other is double clamped. How can we have more children? Adoption. Scott was adopted and he wants to adopt a number of children. After doing foster care for a few years, I honestly don’t know if I can handle the stress. I told him this the other day and he got fairly upset. We’re now in the process of sort of healing from this grand announcement.
  • I don’t think I’m the best mom that I can be. Quite often I work instead of playing with them, and I tend to get snappy easily. I also think that I expect too much from my children sometimes.
  • I need to be better at communicating with my friends. I’m horrible at emailing back, and I tend to avoid the phone more and more lately. I love and appreciate my friends and need to keep in better touch with them.
  • I’m talking with my father, and that whole situation – with my mother and my father – is royally fucking with my mind. I need to get all of my priorities straight and do what is best for my children and them alone.
  • I know I can work harder than I do. Quite often I procrastinate and add stress onto myself. I have done this since before I can remember. I need to start working smarter so that I don’t stress myself out as much.
  • I need to get my health under control. I’ve been avoiding some things that I need to get done, and my body is slowly showing me how pissed off it is becoming.
  • I need to make more time for Scott and I in the coming year. We didn’t have any vacation together in 2008, really, and we need to change that for 2009. Only by us having a strong relationship can we be great parents for our children.
  • I need to make more time for myself. I am thinking about scheduling a weekly “Mom’s bathroom hour”, where I take a long bath, or a hot shower, then do my nails, ect. I can’t spend the money on spa treatments around here – or won’t because I’m a cheapskate, but I need to start pampering myself a little in my own home to de-stress.

So those are some of the things that I’m thinking about right now, and hopefully I can improve upon them in the New Year.

I hope you all have a happy, and safe, New Years and that your 2009 is amazing!

One Response to “Cleaning the Slate for 2009”

  1. Finn December 31, 2008 at 3:59 pm #

    Excellent goals. And trust me when I tell you that if you can work smarter, take time for yourself and tend to your health, you’ll be the mom you want to be. All of that stress, etc. is what’s making you snappy.

    If I can be of any help in the project management area, please let me know.

    Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

