End of Vacation – and a Little Griping

4 Jan

.flickr-photo { border: solid 2px #000000; }.flickr-yourcomment { }.flickr-frame { text-align: left; padding: 3px; }.flickr-caption { font-size: 0.8em; margin-top: 0px; }


Watching, originally uploaded by scootersbabygirl.

Tomorrow is the end of vacation, and while I’ve still been working here at home, I have been able to wake up at the lazy hour of – 7:30. Actually, a few days I slept in until 8:30 (Scott was home and up with everyone). Babygirl and Toad have been waking up late too! It’s definitely going to be interesting tomorrow to get everyone up and back to school.

We played outside yesterday for an hour or so, and will again this afternoon. My SIL and her boyfriend/fiance/whatever-he-is, have been coming over every Sunday for dinner, and it’s kind of nice. I love that Toad and Babygirl are growing up having their Aunt and Uncle so close. Tonight it’s my turn to make dinner – I love being able to cook for more than just Scott and the kids.

I guess I’d better get some clothes on, then, so that I can head outside once again and freeze. Ah well, the kids enjoy it!

But before I go, I must tell you about my neighbor. Our Asian neighbor is very nice. She loves the kids because she doesn’t have any grandchildren yet, and she spoils them whenever she’s here (she has more than one house).

She also loves Scott.

Yesterday she called and asked if she and her husband could come down in order to bring down a few things. They brought down a few boxes of chocolate covered macadamia nuts (they usually do), and a jacket for Scott. A NICE jacket for Scott. A VERY EXPENSIVE jacket for Scott.

Our neighbor’s son owns a company that makes outdoor items, so she occasionally snags items that were being used for display, or occasionally items straight off of the shelf. Then she gives them to Scott.

In the last two or three years he’s gotten at LEAST five or so jackets from her (probably closer to six or seven now, including the last jacket).

Me? Nothing.

Now while I’m not usually one to freak out when everyone else in the family gets something except me, it’s starting to take it’s toll on me. EVERY TIME she comes up, she gives the kiddos something and Scott something. But nothing for me.

Maybe it’s because I’m a fat-ass and can’t fit into the clothes that her son makes. Maybe it’s because she’s Asian and men mean more in their culture. Or maybe it’s just because she likes Scott more.

And let’s couple that with what my Aunt said the other day – she and her daughter, my cousin, babysat the kiddos on New Years Eve so that we could go out for a nice dinner. When we dropped the kids off both the Aunt and Cousin made a point to say:

“Oh he’s such a wonderful husband! To take you out like this! To call and ask us to babysit! He’s so wonderful! You’re so lucky to have him!”

Yes – I am lucky to have my husband. I won’t dispute that. But the only reason he wanted to go out for New Years is because *I* asked if we could do something different. And the only reason he called for a babysitter is because *I* pointed out that we needed someone to babysit and that I had no idea who we should call because I didn’t want to feel rude.

So *I* was behind the entire thing for the most part. And HE gets all the credit. And the stuff from the neighbor.

Apparently this post turned from being a lament about vacation being over to a lament about why my husband is “so much better” than I am.

*sigh*

Welcome back to the friggin’ real world.

4 Responses to “End of Vacation – and a Little Griping”

  1. PinkPiddyPaws January 4, 2009 at 9:06 pm #

    Yep…. I feel ya sweetie! I had the same problem with my ex-husband actually. And it cut both ways. The good stuff *I* did, other people would give him the credit for (he actually got an AWARD in our hobby for all the stuff I did!! seriously!!) and the BAD STUFF HE DID, **I** got the blame for.

    I’d often be left with the WTF?? moods… Just remember that he’s yours and you love him and he loves you and lots of us aren’t lucky enough to have that.

    xoxoxo

  2. MisstressM January 4, 2009 at 9:52 pm #

    Wait a minute…..I am still trying to get over the part where you wrote this entry practically naked and you only briefly mentioned putting on cloths.

    By the way i love the pictures you have been taking.

  3. Mistress January 5, 2009 at 2:16 am #

    Imagine having that Asian lady as your MIL that doesn’t really speak good enough English to get her point across with tact.

    Take it with a grain of salt. Asian people can be weird sometimes.

    Not sure what to say about the hubby situation. They think that I am pretty much perfect and it is him with the issues

  4. Angela February 26, 2009 at 2:34 am #

    But you know that YOU are the real genius here right? Cause YOU snagged him!

    Same deal here, but I just play it up to everyone and anyone about how I snagged the best and sweetest deal out there.

    You can certainly take credit for that 🙂

Leave a Reply

