New Year – New Blog

7 Jan

What? You thought I was leaving Scott or something?! Sorry – I couldn’t help myself. This is the move – surprise! I’m here now! All the old posts are here now too, and while there are still some kinks to be worked out, I think the site is up enough to be switched on your links.

I’ve been told by a number of people lately that I need to switch from Blogger to WordPress. It actually makes sense, now that I think about it. To begin with, I use WordPress on all the professional blogs that I do, so for the most part I’m very familiar with the features. Secondly, I know that a number of people that I know actually read my blog now, and there are some people that I’m guessing have found it and there may be some posts that I want to password protect – you can’t do that on the blogger site (at least not that I’ve ever found).

So I’m switching to WordPress. And while I’d like to plunk down the money to get my own domain, the hubby is still freaking about the amount I spent on the camera last year (even though I took on extra work for it), AND about the fact that I paid for a pro version of Flickr (although he recently asked when it’s due again and said that he has NO problem with me paying for it again), so I think I’ll stay away from buying any space…for now.

NOW, you WordPress gurus – I need some help. First of all, I need to know how to change this theme without it being one of WordPress’s chosen themes. I know there are tons of free themes out there – can I switch the themes up as easily here as I could on Blogger? And if so, HOW?! Because I spent a better part of the morning trying to figure it out.

Secondly, I see tons of cool widgets and stuff on people’s WordPress blogs – can I implement some of those on the free version, or am I screwed?

And finally, I have to do something that I’ve always wanted to do but was never able to do on the Blogger blog. Fuck off Have a nice day!

(Seriously have a nice day – it was the cross off thing that I could never figure out how to do on Blogger…I love you – really – please say you’ll come back? Pretty please?! With a chocolate Dove on top?! I need some help here peoples!!)

5 Responses to “New Year – New Blog”

  1. JM January 7, 2009 at 3:36 am #

    Welcome to the world of personal WordPress. 🙂 Things may have changed a bit since I had my personal blog on WP, but as far as I know…

    Themes – If you don’t want a theme that’s free from wordpress, you have to pay to get into your template. Yeah, lots of fun, huh? If you do decide to pay, I’m sure there are plenty of ‘how do I install my free template’ instructions out there. Unfortunately, it’s not as easy as installing a new Blogger template because it’s CSS and not HTML.

    Widgets – No reason why not. The only reason you wouldn’t be able to put on a widget is if WordPress itself didn’t like it. Good ol’ WP can be a bit picky about what works and what doesn’t. (I’m pretty sure it’s javascript that WP hates, but I could be wrong – it’s been a while.) You can quite easily change up your sidebar by going to the tab where you picked your template. There will be a “widgets” link you can click on. If you have a code for a widget that you want, all you do is copy the code into a blank text sidebar box. (You’ll know what I’m talking about when you see it.)

    Have fun!

    Thanks for the info JM! I’m sorta frustrated at the free version so far, but I’m working on it!

  2. Jenera January 7, 2009 at 5:36 am #

    I’ve contemplated migrating to WordPress and even tried to set up a new one and begin the process but I have a problem with change. I worry that even though I can move everything over that I’ll lose my readers. That people won’t follow me. I’m a dork, I know. But I’ve had my Blogger blog for two years now! That’s serious commitment for me.

    Awww Jenera – I’d follow you! Damn – that reminds me – gotta link to you, don’t I?!

  3. sexywhispers January 7, 2009 at 9:27 am #

    Honey–would follow you anywhere! And…I love WP way better than blogger! Great choice. ~~Dee

    Awww, thanks!

  4. scootersbabygirl January 7, 2009 at 2:15 pm #

    Awww Jenera – I’d follow you! Damn – that reminds me – gotta link to you, don’t I?!

  5. Sherry January 7, 2009 at 7:35 pm #

    Okay, I’ve deleted your old feed and added the new one, so here I am!

    I know WP.com used to have a lot of limitations but they’ve expanded a lot lately so I think most widgets work. It’s too bad that they don’t allow more control over what themes you want to use but at least they have some pretty good ones!

Leave a Reply

