MeMere

11 Jan

When I was really little, I went to a babysitter. We’ll call her MeMere. Now MeMere had known my mother since she was little, so my mom knew she could trust MeMere to take care of me, and take care of me she did. She was the kind of babysitter who scolded when you needed an ass warming, kissed booboos when you needed them kissed, and made pancakes for all of the kids when we begged for them. She made us wash our dirty feet out on the porch if we’d been playing on the playground with our shoes off, and made sure that no one got hurt.

On Saturday Scott and I did tons of visiting, including visiting Scott’s grandmother, my mother (to see her new tanning bed room – more on that when I have photos), and then an impropmteau visit to MeMere’s house. MeMere lives next door to my mom, so we walked over to say “hi”!

This is MeMere.

It took me a good three minutes or so to get this specific picture, as MeMere is always looking at people and talking and gesturing with her hands (she’s French, after all, and I mean French as in she can speak French fluently due to the fact that her parents came from Quebec Province in Canada. She even makes Frenchman’s soup, which is basically a soup that has everything in it, including the kitchen sink.

MeMere even took care of Toad when he was little. She babysat him until, when he was about a year old, she had a heart attack and had to stop taking care of children. Last year she had a major surgery and we were all worried that we were going to lose her, but she pulled through.

It was wonderful to visit her and to chat with her for awhile, and while I was there I couldn’t resist taking some photos of her little Christmas village. Every year, MeMere decorates for the seasons. She has a little buffet area thingy (only technical terms here) that she really does up every year. Here are a few photos from her buffet.

Christmas carolers!

Little dudes singing!

The jolly old man himself!

The…oh…wait…they didn’t belong in the set!

Anyway, it was a pretty relaxing afternoon. The photo of the kids was taken at Scott’s grandmother’s house (she gave Babygirl the huge bear for Christmas) and it was wonderful to see and chat with MeMere again. Now if I can just go to sleep! (it’s 12:46 AM as I’m finishing this and so far the wine cooler I’ve imbibed is doing NOTHING to help me sleep. Dammit.)

2 Responses to “MeMere”

  1. Roland Hulme January 14, 2009 at 12:28 am #

    You’re an ASTONISHING photographer. I love MeMere. I only heard that term when I moved to America (my brother in law’s mum is ‘MeMere’)

  2. scootersbabygirl January 14, 2009 at 1:53 am #

    Awww, thanks Roland! I’m nowhere near as astonishing as most of the people I’ve been reading, but I’m learning, slowly but surely!

Leave a Reply

