Oh.My.God.

14 Jan

I’ve been speaking with a researcher from Northwestern University for a few months now. It began when I was searching online to try to figure out if my headaches (now listed as migraines, or the “holy hell shoot me fucking NOW” headaches). I found a forum where people talked about a study that Northwestern was doing on PCOS, not only to help develop ways to discern when someone had it, other than the process of elimination that they use now, they’re also trying to find ways to help fix the problem.

Earlier this summer I got sent a large box from the study which contained at LEAST thirty vials, all which needed to be filled with my blood. Okay – fine – no problem – done. Then…nothing. In early November, however, I got contacted by the study coordinator again – she’d misplaced my files and was extremely sorry, but wondered if I was still interested. Of course I was, so she asked that I get a hemoglobin, an iron test, and a blood glucose tolerance test.

Today I hit the hospital and did the bloodwork. I had the Sunkist on Crack (the glucose stuff is STRONG and filled with sugar) and got stuck four times for the subsequent bloodwork.

I got a call from the coordinator this evening.

I’m going to Chicago.

Let me clarify – I’m going to Chicago SEVEN times. Or eight. I’ve lost count.

The first time I go I’ll have two days worth of workups done, including a full-body MRI (I can already hear House groaning at that) and a number of other tests. Then I’ll be sent home with one of five medications – I won’t know which one I’m taking. I’ll be asked to follow a diet that will be made for me by a dietician, and asked to stay on the diet and meds for 6 months.

Then, every month for those six months, I’ll have to fly BACK to Chicago for tests and more meds, then back home.

The meds aren’t experimental, but they’re meds that are used for other conditions and are being looked at (sometimes in combination) for PCOS.  On the last visit I’ll have all the initial tests re-run again to see if the meds worked.

Have I ever told you that I’m scared of flying? Well, not exactly flying – it’s the sudden stop that scares me. Maybe this will help me get over my fear, though! Who knows!

I do know a few things.

1 – this is the best chance for me to get this condition under control and to lose weight.

2 – this is the best chance to get answers for me as well as for Babygirl

So for these two main reasons, I’ll work on getting over my fear of flying. I’m sure I won’t sleep at ALL the night before the flight and the night I’m in Chicago.

Me. The littler Vermonter. Going to Chicago.

Any advice guys?!

4 Responses to “Oh.My.God.”

  1. Roland Hulme January 14, 2009 at 12:26 am #

    Wow, you sound like Randi the human pincushion! I hope the meds work.

    For years, I scoffed at ‘migraines’ and thought people who had them were just hypochondriacs. Then I had my first and only migraine – OH MY GOD. My normal routine of self medication with prescription drugs and alcohol was ineffective. Only hours in a darkened room helped ease it. Since then I have NEVER scoffed at somebody who has migraines. They’re simply HORRIBLE.

    Glad I discovered your blog – I dig your sense of humor!

  2. Jenera January 14, 2009 at 12:42 am #

    I have no advice but what a great opportunity! I can think of a couple people off the top of my head that may benefit from anything learned from the study. Hopefully you’ll get great benefits too!

    Good luck!

  3. Sherry January 14, 2009 at 3:24 am #

    I mentioned it on Twitter but I can do more than 140 characters here! I like to fly but George doesn’t at all. When he had to go to Texas a few years ago he was pretty nervous because he had to fly from Montreal to Chicago to Houston and then back the same way two days later.

    He got prescribed some Ativan for it. I think he just took it half an hour before the first leg of the flight and then again whenever the next dose was allowed according to the prescription. It wasn’t the first time he had taken it for anxiety, so he already knew how he would react to it – he said that it never made him feel drugged up or out of it, he just felt relaxed. He told me that it leaves your brain so clear and unfogged (unlike some similar medications) that he KNEW logically that he was afraid but he was so calm that he “didn’t care”.

    If you’ve never taken it (or if you see a doctor and get prescribed something else) you might want to do a trial run first to make sure it doesn’t make you sleepy or slow. I may end up having to go to my sister’s wedding out East alone and although I’m not afraid to fly I’m nervous to go alone and I already have panic attacks as it is, so I’ll be talking to a doctor before September and trying it out a few days before I go.

    Yay for such a great opportunity for you!

  4. JM January 14, 2009 at 10:55 am #

    Woohoo! Funfunfun. Don’t be afraid of flying. I absolutely love it. 😀

Leave a Reply

