It’s Fucking Cold

15 Jan

There are times when I can imagine that I live in a small, normal rural area. When I see the farms and the cows and the people who will wave at you when you walk by instead of trying to stab you and realize that we’ve got it pretty good here in VT. Granted, most people think that VT is a city in some other obscure state and don’t realize that we’re the main provider of cheese, maple syrup, and Ben & Jerry’s (dude – it’s Ben & Jerry’s – come on, you’ve gotta know where it comes from!).

Then there are days like this morning, when you go into the garage to warm up your minivan 20 minutes before you are going to bring Toad to school, because, gee golly whiz, the thermometer outside says that it’s -19 degrees outside.

Did you read that right? Take another look – that little line in front of the 1? Thats a NEGATIVE as in BELOW ZERO. As in don’t go out or your eyeballs will freeze.

Toad still had school today, because, dog gone-it, we’re Vermonters and we have school come hell or ice-freezing-fucking cold weather. But they won’t be going outside for recess (we’re crazy, not insane). Babygirl’s school was canceled but only because the teacher had an appointment and couldn’t find a sub, or we’d be traveling out in this weather instead of sitting here in our pj’s contemplating soup for lunch.

Would I give up the small enjoyments of VT to live in a warmer climate?

Probably not. I guess I am insane after all!

4 Responses to “It’s Fucking Cold”

  1. Sherry January 15, 2009 at 7:56 pm #

    I feel your pain. It was -27C here (-16F) this morning, and that was before you considered the wind chill. And one of the cities out West in Manitoba was hitting -49C (-56F) with the wind today. AWFUL.

    Hayley wasn’t outside yesterday for recess or lunch recess and it’s colder today so I’m sure they were inside today too. On the weather segment of the national news this morning they said that the temperatures in our area would cause frostbite on any exposed skin in only 10-15 minutes (2-5 minutes for that other city I mentioned!). Yay.

  2. fairytonic January 16, 2009 at 6:47 am #

    Here in New Zealand it’s summer and we scorched our way up to nearly 29 degrees today – yuck! Wanna trade places???

  3. MisstressM January 16, 2009 at 10:13 pm #

    OOOOOOOOOOOOOOO I like your new home. I do I do I do….now you have to teach me how to do the flicker widget thingy. PLEASE

  4. scootersbabygirl January 17, 2009 at 2:32 am #

    Sherry – I know you feel my pain! You’re even colder up there than I am!!

    Fairytonic – summer? 29 degrees in summer?! And they say global warming is a myth.

    M – Huh? How to what?!

Leave a Reply

