Babe Ruth Baseball

31 Jan

I have a number of relatives. My excuse for this is because I live in Vermont and adults have little to do during the cold winter months other than shovel snow and go at it like bunny rabbits. One of my grandmother’s brothers and his wife passed away (due to very bad circumstances – ask me sometime and I’ll tell you – it’ll make you scared to leave me anywhere near an unlocked firearm) and my mother was the recipient of most of their worldly possessions. Basically the house, and everything in it, was willed to her.

My great-aunt was an amazing musician and she had a number of instruments, including the piano that sits in my dining room…untuned and very rarely used…dammit…today. She was the first person I ever knew who got a CD player and my mother still uses it today – which goes to show you that things made oh so many years ago were made of much higher quality than they are today.

And if you kids don’t get off of my lawn, I’m gonna call the county deputy!

Sorry, my Antique Roadshow personality took over for a moment there.

Anyway, she was willed a number of amazing things, including this ball:

Why yes, that is an autographed Babe Ruth baseball.

Here’s what’s interesting about my mom: she is NOT a sports fan. Oh she’ll sit and watch kids play a game of ball now and again, but she’s nothing like my grandmother, who would start hooting and hollaring the second something interesting occurred, or me, who is proving to be a horrible bleacher coach.

No, my mom really doesn’t care about sports AT ALL.

That may be why she’s sort of neglected the poor ball. It’s not due to true negligence that the ball is slowly deteriorating, but rather because she didn’t really know what to do to take care of it, and, at the time she got the ball and directly thereafter, she was more concerned with putting food on the table and keeping the roof over our heads than in learning how to take care of some ball.

Now, however, she’s taken an interest in it, which may be because both she and step-dad are getting OLD (KIDDING…sorta) and their own Antique Roadshow personalities are coming out.

They brought the ball to a local antique thingy around here, a watered down version of the PBS classic, or so I’m told, and the appraiser had never seen a ball like this. See this ball is only 2″.

Scott seems to think it’s an “autograph ball”, but I’m having a hard time finding anything about Babe Ruth autograph balls. The date on the bottom is 1948, which is when the Great Bambino passed away. According to my research, that was the year he died, and any autographed items are suspect for that year, and a few before it, because he didn’t sign much.

Now the problem is that we live in Podunkville, and no one around here specializes in anything like this. She wants to learn how much it’s worth and most likely wants to sell it so that it will be properly taken care of. Does anyone have any idea about someone I can contact to get some estimates?

And, just because I like it:

4 Responses to “Babe Ruth Baseball”

  1. Jennifer Nguyen January 31, 2009 at 4:34 pm #

    I can email this to my uncle. My unlcle and Granny do antiques and it HAS to be part of her religion to watch Antique Roadshow when it comes on!!! lol

    Good luck!!!

  2. Cherie February 8, 2009 at 2:19 am #

    Hey there Randi,

    I hope things are still going well for you? My ex husband had some items he sold online. Go to this website and check them out. Get their contact numbers and give them a call over the phone and tell them what you have.

    Here is the website: http://www.mastronet.com/index.cfm?Action=DisplayContent&ContentName=Home%20Page

    Give me a call 754-6959 and I can give you more info.

    Take care, Cherie

  3. Rob Sillito January 2, 2010 at 12:56 am #

    You can also try PSA/DNA website for an online opinion. They normally will do this for items for sale for collectors before they buy.
    You are right about Babe Ruth not signing as much in the later years of his life. He also had his wife and other family members sign items for him. More info about this on my Babe Ruth autographpage on my website.
    Good luck, I hope it’s real!

  4. Hazel Griffiths January 28, 2010 at 9:43 am #

    This is the nice site! I love a few of the articles which have been written, and especially the comments posted! I’ll definately be visiting again!

Leave a Reply

