When Life Hands You Lemons, Make Oatmeal Craisin Cookies.

23 Feb

Hi! How are ya? I’m alive. I think. Things have been a little crazy here. The kids have gone on vacation – Toad has survived his first sleepover away from home (although he was zonked the next morning), and my parents left to go to Florida for 2 weeks, which means we’re now babysitting the kittens – which means that all hell broke loose when they got here. Our two cats though we’d betrayed them, and the puppies (ha – I still call them puppies) thought that we’d brought them some toys…or snacks…we’re still not sure which yet.

Scott had his first day back to work after three weeks today. I heard him get up, get ready, and head out. The next thing I know I’m waking up to the sound of his voice. WTF? Turns out his factory laid off a bunch of people – around 50, we think. No, he’s not laid off – yet. He still has a job, but they gave everyone the day off (I’m guessing for morale reasons). They’re working this week and next and then have 2 weeks off again. And they’re offering a voluntary layoff for whoever wants to take it. It’s not good people.

And how do I drown out my not-good feelings? With food, of course. I baked a huge batch of Oatmeal Craisin cookies on Friday so that my mom and step-dad could take a bunch down to Florida with them and the couple they were traveling with (they were extremely appreciative) and because they’re one of Scott’s favorite cookies.

Winnie, a co-worker of sorts of mine, apparently read my twitter about making them and decided to try some herself. Her response?

Made oatmeal craisin cookies, at the suggestion of @RandiLee – so good!

I’m not an Oatmeal Raisin cookie fan – I’m not. I don’t care for the texture and taste of them. These cookies, however? I LOVE.

Wanna make them? Here’s the recipe I use:

Ingredients
* 2 cups all-purpose flour
* 1 teaspoon baking soda
* 1 teaspoon baking powder
* 1 teaspoon kosher salt

Cream wet ingredients

* 1 cup butter, softened
* 1 cup sugar
* 1 cup dark brown sugar, firmly packed
* 2 large eggs
* 2 teaspoons vanilla

Then stir in

* 3 cups oats (not instant)
* 1 1/2 cups craisins

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 350°.
2. Whisk dry ingredients; set aside.
3. Combine wet ingredients with a hand mixer on low.
4. Stir the flour mixture into the creamed mixture until no flour is visible. (Over mixing develops the gluten, making a tough cookie.)
5. Now add the oats and raisins; stir to incorporate.
6. Scoop about 2 tbsp of dough onto a cookie sheet sprayed with non-stick spray.
7. Bake 11-13 minutes, until golden, but still moist beneath cracks on top.
8. Remove from oven; let cookies sit on baking sheet for 2 minutes before transferring to a wire rack to cool.

That whole “let cookies sit on baking sheet for 2 minutes” thing? Is actually important. If you try to take them off of the cookie sheet before that, they fall apart. Let them sit for a few minutes and they harden up beautifully. The thing about these oatmeal cookies? They’re only hard on the outside. Inside they’re deliciously chewy and moist! And the craisins gives them just the right touch. I made a double batch and it took about 2 bags of craisins. Trust me – TRY THESE.

Leave a Reply

