Something Different

2 Mar


Pass, originally uploaded by scootersbabygirl.

This weekend seemed to fly by. Yesterday we did a whole lot of nothing – including checking in on my mother’s house to make sure that her cat hadn’t started destroying her house while she’s been gone.

While we were there the kids played in the back yard, the cat went in, and out, and in, and out, and in, and out, and in, and out, and I fixed her computer (finally! I finally figured out what was wrong with it! SCORE!)

Today, though, we headed to see my cousin’s daughter play in the final game of their tournament. She’s in 8th grade – when the fuck did that happen?! My cousin’s daughter is now old enough to babysit my children, and has on many occasions. I remember cuddling her when she was a newborn – and not remember in a fuzzy way, but in a really vivid “it was only yesterday’ way!

She’s actually their favorite babysitter. Toad calls her his girlfriend. Fortunately she’s sweet enough to just giggle over it.

Her team was playing against my old team, and while I sort of felt as though I was rooting for the wrong team, I was really proud to see how great their team of girls worked together. You could see the difference when A was on the court and when she was off. When she was on the court the girls flew around and had a very fast pace. When she was off the court things were more relaxed.

They kicked ass, took names, and won the tournament.

And, of course, my girl won MVP. Go A!! congrats!!

Last night I had a horrible dream (nice seguay – wasn’t it? It’d be even nicer if my dumb ass went onto Word and figured out how to properly spell seguay, but I’m too lazy too) that woke me up and kept me awake the rest of the night.

I was on a plane. In an aisle seat. I was reading a book when suddenly the lights started to go out on the plane. They started going out near the front of the plane, and quickly, one by one, turned off heading towards the back of the plane. As the lights were going out, the plane began to tip towards the nose. more and more the plane was headed downwards, tipping sharply towards the ground.

Suddenly it was rocketing towards the ground and I knew we were going to die. I had a quick thought of “I fucking knew it”, when suddenly my body was flying up and up and up – but it wasn’t my body, it was my spirit headed towards the clouds. I also remember that I only looked down briefly at the plummeting plane, and that I was looking upwards at the sky.

Then I woke up. At 4 am. And STAYED UP.

Oh yeah, have I mentioned that I’m scheduled to go back to Chicago on Thursday? As in this Thursday?

SCARED AS FUCK doesn’t even begin to describe it.

Some people say, “if it’s your time, it’s your time – there’s nothing you can do to change it.”

Others say, “you’re being ridiculous.”

What do I say?

I say that I’ve got a big ass bottle of wine that I’m working my way through hoping that if I drink enough of it I’ll be able to sleep without remembering the dream and worrying that it wasn’t a dream but a premonition.

One Response to “Something Different”

  1. Pug Mom March 2, 2009 at 3:37 am #

    Long time lurker here 🙂

    While you’re not being ridiculous (don’t you hate when people tell you that? So exasperating), I say you’ll be fine. And hopefully no crazy landings or takeoffs this time. But do remember to blog right after landing. So we all know you’re alive. Seriously, good luck – hopefully you’re not too nervous this Thursday 🙂

Leave a Reply

