BLOW UP!

18 Mar


BLOW UP!, originally uploaded by scootersbabygirl.

Yesterday was a red letter day for domestic crap in my house. First Scott and I attempted to watch our thermal backed curtains, as I’d had a few complains about a stain on the curtains. We washed them and then threw them, one at a time, in the drier.

They melted.

The backing stuck together to other parts creating what I’ve begun to affectionately call wrinkles from hell. I tried to unstick the back using a little bit of heat from an iron, but that was an epic failure. We did the best we could and hung them up.

And then went shopping online for new curtains.

We haven’t found quite what we’re looking for yet (vertical and affordable), but we’re getting there.

I’d already swept and mopped the floor and went to make dinner later on. I was making a delicious (delicious partly because it was on sale) thick ham steak. I put it into my large glass Pyrex bake ware and slid it into the oven.

It was due to be cooked for 7 minutes and then flipped, so I cooked it for 7 minutes. I grabbed my pot holder and started to lift it out of the oven. The plan was to put it on the top of the stove, flip the massive ham steak, and then put it back into the oven.

I’d no sooner lifted the bake ware when suddenly it exploded! And I do mean exploded. Molten hot glass shards flew out 8 feet away from the stove and made me extremely grateful that I’d banished my children from the kitchen a few minutes before that.

The glass sliced open my knuckle on the hand that was holding it – I’m still not sure if it chipped the bone or not, as it’s extremely painful to do anything with my left hand today. Other than that, though, there were no other injuries sustained, which makes me very, VERY grateful.

HOWEVER – dude – Pyrex shouldn’t explode!! I wasn’t putting a cold dish into the oven (the dish had come from the cupboard) and I hadn’t added anything into the dish when I was pulling it out. I was simply pulling out a dish that had been heated for 7 minutes to flip a ham steak when the KABOOM occurred.

This, of course, destroyed my newly washed floor as well.

Apparently the powers that be decided that I shouldn’t be doing anything domestic tomorrow. I guess I should’ve just flown to Tahiti!

6 Responses to “BLOW UP!”

  1. Finn March 18, 2009 at 5:25 pm #

    I’d be writing to Pyrex about now. Not cool.

  2. Sherry March 18, 2009 at 6:39 pm #

    I’d definitely call that a good excuse to say “eff the housework” today! I’m glad the kids weren’t hurt, that glass could have flown in someone’s eye.

  3. Jenera March 18, 2009 at 6:39 pm #

    About two months ago, I had a Pyrex dish do the exact same thing. I had just taken it out of the oven and set in on top of the stove to dish up. I got my son’s food first and as I was getting ready to dish mine, it exploded. An entire dinner ruined. I had stole the dish from my mom who’d had it for about 15 years or more so I’m assuming that was why. But man, it was scary.

  4. scootersbabygirl March 18, 2009 at 7:56 pm #

    Finn – I tried to write them but for some reason I couldn’t “submit” on their website. Apparently lots of people are having the same problem and they’re denying it with the “you must’ve done something wrong” story. Uh huh.

    Sherry – I have!! LOL

    Jenera – I’m glad you’re okay!! My dish wasn’t as old as yours, but neither of them should have exploded!!

  5. Michele March 20, 2009 at 7:38 pm #

    WTF? Pyrex at the very least should send you a new dish.
    AND a new massive ham steak.

    Happy weekend!

  6. Tracey March 20, 2009 at 8:01 pm #

    I’d send them the pieces and go SERIOUSLY! Thats scary!

Leave a Reply

