Word Meaning

25 Mar

I love words. I always have. I love how words can trip and twist on the tongue, creating a plethora of pleasurable sensations just from speaking them, or even simply from reading them.

My husband? Words are only important to him if he’s trying to kick my ass in a game of Scrabble (I totally beat him by one point last time – and yes, one point COUNTS as a win, dammit). Sometimes I’ll see a word and go “ooooh – that’s my new favorite word of the day” and will insert that word into a conversation as many times a day as I possibly can.

For instance: I once used the word “fucktard” for a solid week. I love that word. It’s dirty sounding and not musical at all, yet it’s got a very solid feel to it. It doesn’t end too quickly like the word “fuck” does, but instead gives you enough time to say it so that you really feel as though you’ve uttered a swear word. Seriously – try saying it! Fucktard. Feels good, don’t it?

Sometimes it’s not a word I love, but a phrase. The Twilight novels were really good, but they weren’t amazing due to the difficult words in them, which is why it surprised me that I found one sentence that has stuck with me the entire time. Near the end, when Bella gets a shot of some sort of painkiller through her IV, she says, “I could feel the drowsiness trickling through my bloodstream”. I love that phrase.

There are some words, though, that don’t have a great deal of meaning to me. For instance the word bitch. You can call me a bitch and I’ll say “yeah – okay – and?” Call me a cunt, however, and we’ll definitely have words. I think it’s because cunt sounds so much meaner than bitch does.

I once called someone a wench, jokingly, and I swore she was going to snap my head off. It took me a week to explain to her how the word wench isn’t a swear word.

The word “dad” or “father” – those words really don’t mean a lot to me. I didn’t have a dad growing up. Scott gets REALLY picky when you talk about his mother. He was adopted, and he has a “mom” and he has a “biological egg donor”. That’s it. You can not call his egg donor his mother – you either call her by her first name or nothing at all. The same holds true for his dad and his sperm donor.

I have a mom. I don’t have a dad. I have a father who has recently stepped into my life again, and a step-father who says that I’m like a real daughter to him but who, for whatever reason, can’t treat me that way.

So that word? That one word out of hundreds of thousands of words out there? Means absolutely nothing to me.

4 Responses to “Word Meaning”

  1. Jenera March 26, 2009 at 12:40 am #

    My hubby once asked why girls don’t like to be called a cunt and I explained it is the male equivalent of cocksucker. I asked if that made sense and he said yes.

    I have a biological father that I only refer to by his name, if at all. He’s not a dad, not a father, just a piece of poop in my book.

    Words are a funny thing. Especially their meanings to different people.

  2. Kate March 26, 2009 at 12:45 pm #

    “Dad” means a lot to me now. I hear my children call their father “Daddy,” and it melts my heart every time. Not as much as “Mama,” but still! Now, “Mom” – there’s a powerful word for me.

  3. Holly March 30, 2009 at 5:26 pm #

    Words are fascinating things, aren’t they? I’ve had wonderful stories be virtually ruined because of the author’s careless diction. My boyfriend and I are in a 3-year (and running) argument about the meaning of the word hypocrite. My best friend and I have a mutual ex who is referred to exclusively as fucktard.

  4. Belowthough December 6, 2009 at 9:22 pm #

    Laugh Restaurant,afraid you association prepare style miss traditional error committee unlikely direct curriculum body boy story essential type several thank find conclude whole begin somewhere church deal scheme town message experience closely rather tomorrow attention unless man everyone could sale possible secondary even expect help deny demand fact labour hour account watch invite active population prison produce continue where conflict flower bad sing love pass soldier east close all goal useful able level obvious quality spend congress pair experiment domestic approach nod stick anyone to name largely international roof

Leave a Reply

