Happy Birthday Babygirl

12 Apr

Babygirl,

Today you turn 5 years old. It hardly seems possible. Wasn’t it just yesterday when I was holding you in my arms and dealing with diaper rash? And now you’re a wonderful, intelligent, silly little girl who is getting ready to start Kindergarten in the fall.

There are so many things that I love about you, Babygirl. One of the first things that comes to mind is how much you love and admire your brother. You’ve always followed him around like a little puppy dog and while you do tend to fight with him occasionally, you are always seeking his approval and happiness. Just today you gave him one of your brand new WebKinz toys because he was upset that you had a few and he didn’t have any (due to the dogs lunching on his Froggie WebKinz many, many months ago). We told your brother to remember this day, and to be very grateful that he has a loving sister, just as you’re grateful that you have a wonderful big “bother”.

I love how artistic you are. You love grabbing crayons, markers, or whatever is handy and drawing all sorts of things. Right now you have this obsession with drawing tables that have a flowered filled vase on them – maybe you’re trying to hint that Mommy needs to have more plants in the house?

I also adore how much you love being a girly-girl. I’ve never forced you to be a girly girl, but you embrace it and love it. You love having accessories like bracelets and necklaces on and often argue with me in the morning about getting dressed because you want to put on a dress, even if it’s 10 degrees below zero out.

You’re always ready to jump up on a chair and help me to cook, and even though I’ve only just started trusting you to break the eggs (sorry – mommy gets a little neurotic about egg shells in her food), you’ve proven to me how great you are at following directions and enjoying cooking.

This fall you’ll be in Kindergarten, and while the outside part of me acts ecstatic that I’ll have hours of peace and quiet in the house, the inside part of me is scared to death. Will you be okay in Kindgergarten? Will you want me as much then as you do now? What will I do all day with my time, now that I won’t have you constantly asking me to play Barbies with you?

I’m sure that both of us will grow and find out the answers soon enough. For right now, though, I’m going to hold onto the goodness that you are. I’m going to make the most out of this spring and the summer months, even though I’ll likely complain a time or two about how you and your brother are driving me crazy.

Happy, Happy Birthday Babygirl – I hope you know how much mommy and daddy love you, and how glad we are that we are able to share your life with you.

Because your birthday is today, on EASTER, we celebrated it yesterday – and you enjoyed it in full Princess regalia.

5 Responses to “Happy Birthday Babygirl”

  1. Jenera April 12, 2009 at 4:04 pm #

    Happy birthday to the little one!

  2. MrsRobbieD April 13, 2009 at 2:05 pm #

    Happy Birthday BabyGirl!!

  3. Michele April 13, 2009 at 9:17 pm #

    Happy birthday to your girl!

  4. cinnkitty April 14, 2009 at 9:56 pm #

    Hee.hee… she’s a MINI-Tinkerbell on Crack. 🙂

  5. scootersbabygirl April 15, 2009 at 12:16 pm #

    Ha – nice Kitteh.

Leave a Reply

