Different Parenting Styles?

16 Apr

I want to thank you guys for your support yesterday. Yesterday was…well…let’s be honest, yesterday sucked serious donkey dick. I wound up spending half of my time laying on the couch and flipping through the channels (did you know there’s actually a show on the British channel that teaches you how to clean stuff? Seriously! And that you can get gum out of your hair with peanut butter? I learned that from those wonky Brits…) and thinking about how I need to get work done.

The hubby came home and it spiraled downhill, but eventually we worked our way back up and am now talking and trying to get things back to normal.

Which got me to thinking about normal.

During last weekend we had 2 rounds of parents here. One set for Babygirl’s birthday party and another set for Easter (my family). I got to see a lot of very different parenting styles and, lemme tell ya, I’ve figured out some of the problems with children today – or at least with some of the kids who were here.

There were lots of kids here, and I’m going to do my best to not single out who is who because while I am straightforward and honest, each person has a right (snort) to parent their children however they want to – but here are some lessons that I think are important to know about children.

Lets go to the out of control kid. This child came from what seems to be very intelligent parents. This child also loved to run around half-crazed – it reminded me of Macaulay Culkin from Home Alone. Any minute I expected the child to put hands to the face and start screaming. The parent of the child seems to be very into following all of the books, ect, about parenting, and has a child who acts like he needs to CALM THE FUCK DOWN ALREADY.

Lesson #1: parenting books are not always right, especially when you treat them like a bible.

The next child is basically a single child. This child, on the surface, seemed very shy. This child also refused to do any of the activities, ect, that were going on, and instead of trying to encourage the child to get into the games, the parent stood back and just let them go about their merry way. But then, THEN the parent made comments about how the child needs to socialize more…but made no efforts to help that along.

Lesson #2:if you want your child to do something, you need to actually give them help in doing it instead of sitting around waiting for a magical fairy to make it happen for you.

Another child we got to hang with this weekend has a bad reputation. The child seems to be more or less ignored and has already been half cast off by many people. This child, however, was actually very sweet and very kind. The child seemed to have a blast playing around and was definitely a child that Scott or I wish we could adopt.

Lesson #3:even when the parents are morons, occasionally the children can come out being sweethearts – at least in the beginning.

There are all sorts of parenting styles out there, from those who are too negligent to those who need to put the damn books down and start treating their kids like kids. Throughout the entire weekend, I became even more thankful for my two little monsters and even though I know I’m not June Freakin’ Cleaver (you have to say her name like that – that’s the law), I know that my two kids are amazing and wonderful and, for the most part, act like normal children.

2 Responses to “Different Parenting Styles?”

  1. tuesday April 17, 2009 at 1:57 pm #

    I think parenting styles vary with children and think you can’t parent every child the same.
    Still there are many children out there that need more parenting, of ANY kind.

    thanks for visiting my blog!

  2. Jenera April 17, 2009 at 3:11 pm #

    I know that i am not a perfect mother by any means. But at times i look around at those around me and think that my kids might turn out all right after all. I am amazed sometimes by how people choose to parent these days.

Leave a Reply

