Helping Hand

19 Apr


Helping Hand, originally uploaded by scootersbabygirl.

My father (yes, the biological one) called on Friday and told us that the perch were biting down at his favorite fishing hole. Scott and I thought it was a bit early, but there are two things my father knows really well: alcohol and fishing, so we decided to head down to the hole in order to see if we could get some perch!

Anyone who has ever taken children fishing knows that they do not have the patience that is required in order to sit and wait for fish to bite on the line. But we walked down about a quarter of a mile of railroad track to this hidden cove area (so hidden that everyone else wound up coming there about 20 minutes before we left) and set up camp.

We put all of our stuff on the railroad tracks and, surprise surprise, a train actually came down the tracks! So we quickly moved everything and grabbed onto the kids, as the wind that came off of that thing could have blown them into the water!

We waited about a half an hour and no bites. Then, JUST when the kids were starting to get really whiny and bored and I was ready to heave them into the lake myself, the fish started biting! According to my father, you actually have to wait until a specific time of evening for them to bite, and sure enough that’s when they started biting.

We wound up coming home with 13 fish – one we threw back because it had some odd spots on it and another we threw back because it was a Pickeral and, according to my husband “we don’t eat Pickeral”.

Aunt T came fishing with us and thank God she did, for there’s one rule that I stick to when I’m fishing. Wait, there’s two rules:

1. We have to fish somewhere relatively safe for the kids.
2. Mom NEVER has to bait the line or take off a fish.

Aunt T, however, has no problem baiting a hook or taking a fish off of a line, making her the best asset we’ve ever encountered when it came to fishing.

I took the shot above when neither she nor Babygirl was looking at me, and even though you can’t see their faces (thanks to the massive wind that was blowing), I love that Babygirl can look at this photo when she is older and can remember how Aunt T braved the wind, the train, and her mother’s incessant complaints about how fish are SLIMY, in order to spend an evening fishing with the family.

3 Responses to “Helping Hand”

  1. Jenera April 19, 2009 at 7:36 pm #

    GREAT photo! I love it!

    And I hate going fishing. Luckily now I get out of all the gross stuff when I take my camera along.

  2. Sarena April 20, 2009 at 12:00 am #

    I can’t believe you don’t eat pickerel! You don’t know what you’re missing (although we call them walleye around here.)

  3. MrsRobbieD April 20, 2009 at 1:29 pm #

    I agree with Sarena, We call those walleyes down here. I only eat fish I dont like to touch them uncooked. I’d can bait a hook but wont take off the fish. So I need assistance with that one too.

Leave a Reply

