When It Fucking Rains…

30 Apr


Sweetheart, originally uploaded by scootersbabygirl.

I’ve been really busy with work, which is GOOD, don’t get me wrong there. It’s left little time for this site, however, dang it! I miss it!!

The photo you see above? That is a few things all at once. First it’s a good friend’s daughter – how adorable is she?! Second it was a bit of practice for me, and third it’s the start of something I’ve been wanting to do for FOREVER.

I’m starting my own amateur photography business.

I’ve always loved taking photos, but only recently, thanks to lots of people and instruction online and off, I’ve learned how to take my camera and to make the visions that I see in my eyes actually come across on the photos that I take.

My friend K allowed me to use her two children as practice, as my own two children turn into immediate hams the minute the camera is turned onto them. I guess I’ve used them as practice enough, huh?

This little peanut is such a sweetheart – and surprisingly she was really hard to pin down! She kept running around and didn’t want to sit still, which, for the type of photography I like, which is more casual than some, was PERFECT. I finally nailed her down and got a great shot of her by this beautiful birch. I got a few others too.

And the photos of her baby? NOM NOM NOM. It was tons of fun. And, best yet? It proved that I was going to be able to do this. That I could offer an affordable alternative to people who live around her.

But more on this later – I’m currently working on the website, hosted by SmugMug, and am drowning in CSS – anyone who knows CSS can give me a holla! Ktxbai!

Anyway, as for the “when it fucking rains” – let me run down a tally of things that I’ve had to pay for in 30 days.

1. The water pump – roughly $500
2. Dukie’s surgery – $550

And today? The peace de fucking resistance?

3. New equipment for my fucking dumb ass Hughsnet – $125.

I haven’t had to pay it yet – I will have to pay it when they arrive on Monday to replace the equipment. I’ve only had it a few years and apparently it’s shot. So I get to pay $125 for new equipment. And deal with spotty internet between now and then.

Fucking peachy.

And here I was HOPING that Scott and I could get away for our anniversary. We didn’t have anything huge in mind – we were hoping to go to Salem, Mass again and to do some camping and some sight-seeing – we’d estimated that it would cost us between $250 – $300, which I didn’t think was horrible for a weekend away. (Dude, the camping only costs about $65 – cheap lodging, no?).

Now? Now I’m thinking that between the bills that we’ve got, and the fact that we need new summer clothes for Babygirl, for Toad, new sandals for both, to pay for swimming lessons for both, to pay for a vacation for our family this summer (just doing something small – nothing huge – but it’s still gonna cost) ect, that I’m going to be stuck home ONCE AGAIN this year.

Last year we didn’t go anywhere for our anniversary either, as the cost of gas was atrocious and we were trying to be good. So this will make 2 years that I haven’t gotten to get away with my husband.

Peachy fucking keen.

One Response to “When It Fucking Rains…”

  1. cinnkitty April 30, 2009 at 10:09 pm #

    I feel ya sweetie! I really do. Taking an $8k pay cut and moving to AR has absolutely killed my budget. (granted.. less money is better than NO money, but still…)

    Maybe you and the Scottster can do something local instead? Hell.. go camping under the stars.. canoe trip (oh wait.. it’s effing COLD there..ha..ha..), hiking trip? Ummm… Llama hike? Yeah.. I got nothing. Sorry.

    xoxoxoxoxoxooxo

Leave a Reply

