Waiting for a Rainbow

12 May


Double Rainbow, originally uploaded by scootersbabygirl.

I’ve been a bad blogger, but, to be honest, I kind of have a good reason. Toad’s tonsillectomy recovery time has been nothing like Babygirl’s was. Babygirl was feeling tons better by the third day. Toad? Not so much. Oh don’t get me wrong, he’s GREAT when he’s got hydrocodone in his system – most of the week was spent listening to him saying:

“Mom – I feel like I’m in a dream!”

The surgery was on Wednesday so by Saturday I figured we needed to cut back on giving him hydrocodone every 4 hours. Or, ya know, I’d be having to get in touch with those Intervention guys. The bad part? he can only have Tylenol. No Motrin.

I am NOT a fan of Tylenol. The only time Tylenol is used in our house is when we’re trying to bring down a really high fever and we alternate giving doses of Tylenol and Motrin to the kids. Other than that? It’s used for nothing.

So the last few days I’ve spent listening to him playing with his sister one minute and bawling about his ear/throat pain the next. He’d never notice the pain, however, until he wasn’t doing anything. So he’d play on the DS and be fine, and then it’d be bedtime and he’d be all “waaahh – my ear hurts – I want to stay up -” forcing me to be the bad mom and to send my son to bed.

Two nights ago he was up all. night. long. It reminded me vividly why I’m kinda glad we stopped at 2. Around 3 am he and I crashed on the pull out couch…until 5 am, when he had more meds. Let’s just say that I was not at my peak yesterday.

Then last night he got up RIGHT when i was going to bed, but fortunately Scott realized that I was about to commit homicide and took over. And at 5 am? He was up. Again. This time he went to back to bed.

Needless to say, I’m still exhausted. Today he’s got his follow up appointment and with the way things are going I’m going to take a wild stab in the dark and say that the doc isn’t going to clear him to go back to school yet.

And then there’s the whole “I HAVEN’T HAD A VACATION IN 2 YEARS” thing coming up. Now that it’s booked, and now that we’ve finally found a house/dog sitter, I’m itching to go. Beyond itching. I’m ready to jump in the car and go NOW NOW NOW.

So, yeah, I’m feeling like there’s lots of clouds hovering overhead and I’m just waiting for a rainbow (or two) to pop out.

Leave a Reply

