Us

27 May


Us, originally uploaded by scootersbabygirl.

We headed to Salem, MA this past weekend, and, let me just say, it was absolutely vital to our relationship. We’d been so busy in the past few months (hell, since Christmas or before) that we’d had really no time for each other. We had forgotten to take some time out for us, so this weekend, we did that.

I’ve shown this photo to a bunch of people now and the one thing everyone says is “OMG! Look at you smiling! Why don’t you smile more?!” I don’t know – probably because I’m usually not in front of the camera very often? I’ve been trying to make a huge effort, though, to be in more pictures so that my kids can have them when they get older, even if I really don’t care to look at them now.

We had an absolutely fabulous weekend, and if you’ve never been to Salem, MA, I urge you to go. This time we hit the Peabody Essex Museum and the House of the Seven Gables, both of which were really something to see.

I think, though, that we had the most fun just walking around on the beach by our campsite, collecting seashells and overturning rocks to see what critters we could find under them. Scott lamented that he hadn’t brought his metal detector with him to dig up buried treasure. I told him we could bring it next time.

In hopes that next time? Is definitely not another year away.

3 Responses to “Us”

  1. Jenera May 27, 2009 at 3:30 pm #

    I’m glad you guys had a great time! Getting some alone time is a must these days with all the stuff going on. I’m hoping to do just that soon with the hubby.

  2. sherry May 28, 2009 at 4:10 pm #

    I’ve always wanted to go there. I’m glad you guys had a good time, you really deserved it.

    Definitely put yourself in more pictures, even if you don’t like to do it. I wish I had more pictures of my mom. I sneak some whenever I see her but I don’t have many lately of her looking right at the camera and not to be morbid, but when she’s gone I’ll want as many of those as I can get.

  3. natobean May 31, 2009 at 5:09 am #

    You guys look so happy! I understand what you mean about needing time w/the hubby. We haven’t done much of anything in the past 5 years and we are long overdue! We went to his grandfather’s funeral a couple of years ago and it is really sad that it kinda felt like a vacation (only because we got to leave our home state). And I definitley understand the picture thing. For a majority of my son’s life (8 yrs), I have avoided being in pictures as if I was Amish! I have definitley tried to make more of an effort though, because I know how important it is to him & my family. I have come to realize that I can hide some of my chunk-chin by looking downwards a bit! I figure it’s all about the angles (or maybe too much America’s Next Top Model marathons?!?).
    Nat

Leave a Reply

