A Virtual Scarlet A

14 Jun

I really like Facebook. I love that it doesn’t take tons of internet to get to (which is a big consideration due to my satellite internet) and it’s a way to keep in touch with everyone without having to spend hours looking through stuff (unless, of course, you want to). What I love the most about Facebook is how well you can use it to do social networking.

I’m connected to a lot of my high school friends and acquaintances, including XXX – XXX was a really hot guy who was in my school that every girl had a crush on. This morning I woke up to find this message on his Facebook account:

XXX is a selfish jerk. He wants EVERYONE to know that he slept with YYY, while his wife was 6 months pregnant with their second child…while they were already in counseling! Oh yeah, and then it happened AGAIN when his wife was eight months pregnant and out of town, did I mention it was in his own house, without a condom…he does not deserve his family!

Hmmm…somehow I don’t think XXX wrote this. Actually his wife did. She’d gotten on his account and had vented her frustrations.

Some people responded with comments like “this is not appropriate to put here” and “keep it at home, will ya?” I, however, disagree. This is the ultimate example of social networking. In one fell swoop his wife not only informed everyone of how he cheated on his family (and when you cheat on your wife when you have children, you’re cheating on your entire family), but also on his moral character, and her strength, and has succeeded in making sure that it’s something that can not be hidden or swept under the rug.

So, of course, I commented on the post and backed her up. I told her how proud I was that she’d put the message there, and how it was akin to painting a large virtual scarlet A all over her husband. And that I hoped she’d get the support she needed to get through this very difficult time.

From what I’ve been able to uncover, XXX is definitely a guy who has problems with sex – he wants it all the time. And apparently this has gone over to his married life as well.

In my opinion, being “addicted to sex” or whatever is no excuse. There’s never an excuse for cheating on your spouse. If you’re going to sleep with someone else, break up with your spouse first.

And I applaud this woman for being so open about the entire situation. I have a feeling that Nathaniel Hawthorne would be proud.

4 Responses to “A Virtual Scarlet A”

  1. Tracey June 16, 2009 at 12:38 pm #

    She rocks!!!

  2. wildones June 16, 2009 at 11:04 pm #

    But what if someone out here in the real world knew about something YOU had done that might not meet with universal social appoval? Would you want it “out there”?

  3. cinnkitty June 18, 2009 at 5:03 pm #

    Hmmm…I dunno on that one. Mixed thoughts/feelings.

    I do know that I avoid my HS peeps with a passion. ha..ha.ha..

  4. Herb Peeler March 14, 2010 at 4:30 am #

    Fantastic posting, I bookmarked your blog post so I can visit again in the future, Thanks

Leave a Reply

