Totally Venting Here

1 Jul

Scott’s work has been a bit unusual. For the past few months he’s worked one week on, one week off at the factory he works at – the same place he’s worked for over 15 years. Wow, that makes him sound old, doesn’t it? He’s not. Well, he’s older than me, but he’s not old. I mean, it’s not like he’s in his 50’s or something.

Okay, I’ll shut up about the age thing before a bunch of women from the Red Hat society come and kick my ass.

Anyway, this week was supposed to be his off week. Except that he got asked to work and this time he said that he would. He’s avoided doing it two or three times, but this time he decided that it was probably a good idea. His work, however, decided that they’d like to have him come in for three ten hour shifts and one 4 hour shift. So he’s doing that.

I used to work 10 hour shifts. Back when I was at the call center, I would work Friday and Saturday from 4 pm until 2 am. I’d go home, fall asleep around 3 or 3:30, get up between 9 and 10 and do it all again. It was tiring a bit at first, but I got used to it.

Scott? Doesn’t do well when he’s on 10 hour shifts.

He’s been Mr. Crankypants for the last few days, but yesterday topped it. Yesterday after he came home I started mowing the lawn (it’s usually his job, but I was trying to help out – I had already washed the van and would’ve had the lawn halfway done but I couldn’t figure out how to start the riding mower!) when some woman comes rushing towards our house.

She says that she’s a neighbor from over the hill – one we’d never met. She says that our dogs killed her chickens.

We have chickens as neighbors? I knew about the cows, but chickens?

Takaani and Kamik rarely go loose, and when they are loose we’re always outside with them. We know they’re morons and we do everything we can to make sure that they get their exercise and that they do not run off. Yesterday, when I went for the hose to wash the car, I turned my head for 2 seconds and they were gone.

I swear they’re worse than 2 year olds.

Takaani came back after 5 minutes. Kamik after 15. Was I happy? Of course not! But I made sure they wouldn’t run off again and got back to doing our stuff.

Never would I have believed that in those 15 minutes, Kamik as killing chickens. He had no blood on him – no feather – no nothing!

She says that four of her chickens are dead, and starts screaming that she “never wants to see our dogs again” and that she “demands that we pay for the chickens.”

This is all before we’ve gotten a word in edgewise.

We apologized profusely, and said that we would do everything in our power to make sure that the dogs didn’t get loose again. And then she told us that she wanted us to pay her $10 per chicken. I think that’s a bit steep, but we’ll pay it. And then she says that 3 more chickens are missing and if she hasn’t found those by Friday we need to pay for those.

Um, no. We saw the 4 dead chickens and know that they’re dead. You’ve got tons of other chickens over there – how do we know for sure that you really lost 3 more?

I told Scott that I’d pay for the 4 but that’s it. And then he started ranting about getting rid of the boys, and about how they’re a hassle.

What he didn’t see is that they were ready to run because they’d been chained in for a few days due to rain and hadn’t gotten any exercise. Were they right to go over there? Of course not! But whose fault is it?

Ours.

They need to be better trained. Malamutes are notorious for being independent and can be difficult dogs to train. I have trained them for inside of the house and Scott had said that he would do the walking/boundary thing. He hasn’t done that yet.

Regardless, he gave me 2 months to work with them to make sure that they wouldn’t do it again.

Then, later, I went back out and tried to finish the lawn. When I was 3/4 done he comes out and asks what I’m doing.

Um, duh? I’m fixing my hair, what does it look like?

I totally expected him to say “thanks for mowing the lawn for me, hon”. Right? What I GOT was:

“Look at this! You missed this spot! And this! AND THIS! You’re just making more work for me!”

I’m sorry, I’m not a world champion lawn mower. I don’t mow the lawn often and one reason is because of how picky Scott is about his lawn being mowed. Did I miss a bit around the edges? Yes! But we live on a hill and I was worried about how far on the edge I could go without tipping the mower over and getting squished under it.

Did he apologize? Sort of. Later on he goes, “I’m sorry if I got mad at you…BUT you really did miss those spots and I know you could’ve done better.”

Yeah. BUT. Nice.

2 Responses to “Totally Venting Here”

  1. Jenera July 1, 2009 at 8:04 pm #

    First of all, I think that the woman should have to prove your dogs killed her chickens. Our friend’s dog DID kill a couple of chickens that strayed into their yard and it was a mess-and she has the same coloring as your dogs.

    Secondly, only pay for the dead ones.

    Thirdly, exhausted men make for buttheads. There are times when Daniel is in ‘Super Trucker’ mode as I call it and he gets worn out to the point of hysteria and he gets mean. After three years I’ve figured the way to get even is to be even nastier back to him. Now, it only takes a few times and he apologizes without a but on the end.

    ::hugs:: Sorry things are going not so great right now.

  2. Tracey July 2, 2009 at 5:01 pm #

    I agree..Pay for the dead ones. $10 thats some pricey chickens.

    I dont let my hubby mow the yard…bc thats my thing. He can stay inside to clean I’ll go play in the yard. Hum of the mower drowns out the “HEY MOM Can We do’s?”

Leave a Reply

