Guess Who?

21 Jul


Soccer Profile, originally uploaded by scootersbabygirl.

We’ve been spending a LOT of time at the soccer field this summer. Toad is in soccer and this means that twice a week we have to head up to the soccer field in order to watch Toad run around the soccer field chasing after the ball.

Next year he’ll have a decision to make about soccer: does he wear his glasses or not.

We headed to the optometrist yesterday because Toad has been having a number of headaches in the last year. I didn’t remember having any headaches at the age of 8, so we had a chat with the doc who scheduled an appointment with the optometrist.

This is the same optometrist who has seen me since I was diagnosed with an astigmatism.

He checked Toad’s eyes, had him read the chart, and I knew we were doomed to glasses when he thought the O was a Q (it’s the same mistake that I make without glasses).

And you think I would have been unsurprised when the optometrist looked at me and said “well, he has his mothers eyes!”

Wait, what? He’s got an astigmatism?

Scott is near sighted and I assumed that Toad was going to be near sighted if anything, especially since he’s got Scott’s eye color.

Then the optometrist laughs and says, “Yup! Moms who have an astigmatism have an 80% chance of giving their children an astigmatism.”

“Um,” I said, “You could’ve told me about that before I had children!”

“Nope,” he said still smiling, “if I did that men would never have a chance, and since I’m a guy I have to stick with my gender.”

Great.

So Toad was fitted for glasses and was pretty confused as to why the glasses he tried on in the waiting room didn’t make him see better (which is when I had to explain frames and lenses to him).

And we also know for certain that he’ll need braces. So my child will have glasses AND braces in school.

He’s definitely his fathers child.

Meanwhile I’m trying out some contacts. It’s been 8 years since I’ve tried them, and when I tried them before I had a young child so I neglected them (which is something my optometrist warned me about). Now that the kids are older I’m hoping that I’ll be able to enjoy them.

Except that I don’t seem to be adjusting to these ones very well. For one minute they’re fine, and in the next they’re not.

ARGH.

I guess Toad and I both have some decisions to make!

One Response to “Guess Who?”

  1. Tracey July 22, 2009 at 7:19 pm #

    I went back to contacts 4 years ago..and so happy I did. I wear glasses at night before bed and 1st thing in the am. IF I leave the house I get them bad boys in! I Love my sunglasses now!

    Toad will do fine with glasses and braces, trial of life. Will make him a handsomer 😉 gentleman some day.

Leave a Reply

